God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Rabboni


This year, celebrating my 74th Anniversary of Ordination!
May 6, 1944

Seventy-four years ago, at my Ordination Time to the Priesthood, I selected several holy cards to send with my invitations to my First Mass. One card had a poem entitled “Rabboni”, a name meaning Master or Teacher.  Mary Magdalene addressed Jesus by this name when she met Him in the garden on that first Easter Morning.  This treasured poem proved to be a prophetic piece of writing as the events of my life unfolded.

I have one of those cards left, with its edges torn from the many times I have picked it up and read those lines. Life is difficult for everyone, no matter what vocation one follows.  If one were to start out with this premise that life is difficult, then the actual suffering would be easier to bear.

Embrace suffering when it comes in all its various forms and circumstances. Refuse to complain, grow bitter or run away to find escape in drugs or alcohol.  Instead, ask yourself, what can I take from this cross that will help me grow as a human being and a child of God?  Can I grow in patience, compassion for other and humility?  Can I enhance my spirit of prayer?

Often, life in the priestly ministry brought me to a painful ending, but only for a short time. That pain then would lead me to a blessed beginning.  For me, the sudden ending seemed like the end of the world, but remembering the words of the poem Rabboni, I held on for dear life to the hem of the Master’s robe until a new beginning took place.

Rabboni

When I am dying, how happy I shall be,
That the lamp of my life has burned out for Thee.
That sorrow has darkened the path that I trod,
That thorns and not roses were strewn o’er the sod.
That anguish of spirit so often is mine,
Since anguish of spirit so often was Thine.
My cherished, sweet Rabboni, how glad shall I be,
To die with a hope of a welcome from Thee.

Fr. George McKenna

May 5, 2018 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Thank you for your wisdom and encouragement, Fr. McKenna. Congratulations on your anniversary and may God continue to bless you.

    Comment by Larry K. - QS 70 | May 5, 2018 | Reply

    • Congratulations Father! Thank you for your continued words of wisdom. God Bless.

      Comment by barttimm | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  2. Hi Father George,

    That was such a nice pown and story for today!
    Was nice to see such a nice picture of you. I hope you’re feeling well Father and in good spirits !!

    Comment by Pattie | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  3. Thinking of you, Fr McKenna

    Comment by Anonymous | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  4. In each moment of your 74 years of priesthood you have nourished His sheep with His Word & His Sacraments. How blessed are we all for your faithfilled guidance. Your devotion, reverence & faith reveals His Love to us. The sheep say thank you for the blessing you are…you have made an eternal difference in our lives! God Bless you Fr. George! With gratitude & love, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  5. Your message is like a delicate flower pressed between pages of a book to be enjoyed over and over again by future readers. Thanks for sharing so deeply. May you have your heart’s desire.

    Comment by Ed Miskovic QN-64 | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  6. Congratulations on your 74th anniversary. Knowing you and your subtle words of wisdom has truly been a blessing for me. Thank you for letting me share some of your time with me.

    Comment by Gerry Ryan | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  7. Thank you for your priesthood, Father, from one of your old Quigley South students and grandson of Nick Biever, who used to open Christ the King church every day for your early morning Mass. Ad multos annos!

    Comment by Bill Schuetter - QS 1969 | May 5, 2018 | Reply

  8. Hi Father George and a very happy 74th anniversary of your ordination! I am so glad to see your smiling face in that picture of you. You are a dear man and a wonderful priest. I love that poem Rabboni, it’s beautiful. I will copy it and carry it with me always. Thank you for sharing it with us. We will all miss you terribly when you’ve left us, but oh how joyous it will be to think of you united with Jesus in heaven! Death for so many is very frightening, but those of us faithful shouldn’t feel afraid.

    I hope that you enjoy today with your wonderful family. I’m sure they will help you celebrate in style! I love you, dear friend. I’m praying for you!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | May 6, 2018 | Reply

  9. God bless you Fr. McKenna and thank you for your 74 years of priestly ministry. May God continue to hold you in the palm of His hand. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Greg Gervais | May 7, 2018 | Reply

  10. Happy 74th anniversary on your priesthood. What a blessing for us!. Karen R

    Comment by Karen Reichert | May 9, 2018 | Reply

  11. I had a card with this prayer on as a child. I remembered the first and last stanza but hoped someday to read it all again. It made a profound impression on me. I am delighted to find it here again and know the author’s name and story. I am a Sr. Of Mercy for 70 yrs and relate so much to his life story. God bless any and all who made this possible

    Comment by Sr. Marie | November 22, 2019 | Reply

  12. I learned that poem some 50 + years ago saying it often ..the first stanza. Now going on 84 i will memorize the second stanza and hope it will be my last spoken words. Never knew about Fr McKenna til now. May he be still reciting it with us
    Arthur J. O’Deaajo@whimsyfarm.com

    Comment by Anonymous | March 1, 2021 | Reply


Leave a comment