God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Way To Experience Holy Week


Pedro de Orrente, Triumphal Entry Into Jerusalem

Pedro de Orrente, Triumphal Entry Into Jerusalem

On the first Palm Sunday, the Humble Christ rode into Jerusalem on the back of a lowly donkey.  He was investing Himself in each one of us, strangers, not yet born.  What will our response be to Him in gratitude during this coming Holy Week?  I used these ideas for the first time about eight years ago. 

On Good Friday, the soldiers inflicted the most painful of all sufferings on the helpless Lord, death by crucifixion.  He suffered this for each one of us here this Passion Sunday.  First, they nailed His Hands to the wooden cross.  This pain exploded in His brain.  We cry “ouch” at a simple vaccination.

This Holy Week, we can consciously think of using our hands to help others in our daily work, whether it is washing dishes, doing the laundry, or the mundane moments of our everyday work of employment.  We should make use of our hands this week to honor the crucified Hands of Christ.  As we begin the day, look heavenward, put our hands together in prayer and cry out in the secrecy of our hearts. . . “I will do all my work today in the best possible way.”

One large nail transfixed the feet of Jesus.  If we have the chance to attend the services of Holy Week, hopefully we will go on our feet swiftly, with enthusiasm, to give witness to our belief in Our Christ.

On our crucifixes in our homes and churches, we rarely see the bruised mouth of Our Savior, His parched lips and bloody gums, all from the blows of the soldiers.  Although hardly able to speak, what comforting words He spoke. . . “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do. . . Mother, this is your son.  John, this is your mother”. . . Use gracious words this week as we speak to others, offer many compliments.  Tell our family often, “I love you.”  Do this in memory of Christ’s words on the cross.”

Plan to make this Holy Week the best one we ever lived through.  What joy and peace we will experience at this Easter!  This is my 96th Holy Week.  Be assured that I will make it the best of my life.  A Blessed Easter to your families.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 28, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. God love you Fr. George. Weston family says Happy and Blessed Easter. 🌈

    Comment by Anonymous | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  2. Dear Father George,
    What a wonderful blessing to receive your letter today. You have helped me than you know, keeping me close to Jesus. No one who ever meets you forgets you. I remember meeting you when you were a young priest. You visited our home on May street in Chicago to visit your Aunti I (mrs O’Malley).

    You gave us all your blessing, I was about 6 yrs old. I re bed it

    Comment by Helen (Toody) Parker | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  3. Happy Holy Week Fr. McKenna. Thank you for your priestly ministry and may you be blest this Easter with more graces to continue to do God’s work. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Pam Gervais | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  4. Thank you for your goodness ~
    Have a blessed Easter, knowing you have shepherded many many souls to Jesus.

    Comment by Toody (Zinkel) Parker | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  5. You are truly an inspiration!

    Comment by barttimm | March 28, 2015 | Reply

  6. Hi Fr. George!! Holy Week is here already! And my heart is singing with happiness – that you are still sharing your wonderful blog posts with us and helping us take the messages of Jesus into our daily lives – you are so expert at doing that, so effortlessly and in such a meaningful way. The simple notion of the hands, feet, and mouth of Jesus and applying it to our deeds and words, you just amaze me! I was at Mass yesterday, the long reading of the Passion of Our Lord – it has always disturbed me that I was part of the ‘crowd’ to say ‘Crucify him! Crucify him!’ I never liked saying that… but whenever I sin, say something unkind about someone, feel jealous about another’s good fortune, etc… I am in essence, crucifying him all over again, with my sins. I am so blessed that I have returned to the church and can really know and fully experience this Holy Week. What a shame if I would have died before truly experiencing it. It is so true that the more you learn and study about our faith, the more you want to know it! Thank you, Fr. George, for being a huge part of that return to my faith. I will be seeing you soon! I will probably come to see you on Easter. I’m looking forward to visiting with you and sharing in stories again. Thank you for this beautiful post and have a wonderful Holy Week. Love you! Love, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | March 30, 2015 | Reply

  7. Happy Easter father McKenna. Thank uou for sharing your words of wisdom on this website. I love it

    Comment by Kathy graham | March 31, 2015 | Reply

  8. All who have met you, are blessed and grateful for your 96th Holy Week! Fr. George you have increased our faith and spirituality with every spoken and written word! I wish you a glorious Easter! You are in my daily prayers! Wish I could visit with you.
    Blessings, Gratitude & Love, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | March 31, 2015 | Reply

  9. Fr Mckenna. Happy 96th EASTER! You are an inspiration to all . God bless you! Paul Krueger

    Comment by Paul Krueger | March 31, 2015 | Reply


Leave a comment