God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Love Excels All Other Gifts


Surrounded By Love!

A father gave his little son a jig saw puzzle which, when completed, would be a heart. The father left the child to wrestle with several hundred pieces. An hour later, on returning, the father saw the entire puzzle together. “How did you do it so quickly?” the parent asked. The child responded, “I turned the pieces over and saw that a word was there. I worked around the word.” The word turned out to be “love”. No one has ever found a better healer for a broken heart than love.

We are all suffering. We all need healing and affirmation. We walk about with open wounds and running sores. In youth, a mother’s kiss to a bruised knee helped greatly in easing the pain and the shock. An infant crying for fear will stop when a parent will whisper soothing words into its ear. Love affirms another by saying, “You are good and worthy of affection. You are a lovable person. You have many reasons for wanting to live.”

Love shows itself in any number of ways. A smile says, “I like you and hope to have you for a friend.” Acts of courtesy, especially in the home, such as “please”, “thank you”, and “pardon me”, do much to bring a gentle healing into family life. I remember, as a student in 8th grade, in 1933, walking into the classroom and finding a small candy heart on my desk. On the candy were the words, “I Love You”. It was over 55 years before I found out which of my classmates had touched my heart so tenderly back then.

I had a longtime friend, a resident of Omaha, Nebraska, a former telephone operator, who phoned several times a week. She died years ago, just short of her 88th birthday. At the conclusion of every call, she would say, “Do you know something? I love you.” Her voice and her message still linger frequently in my mind after all these years.

My measure of success will be: “Did I fill the world with love?”

Fr. George Mc Kenna

July 23, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This is my all time favorite father George. Yiou are an easy person to love for all the good thoughts and messages you share. Such powerful words of wisdom from you

    Thank you

    Kathy grsham

    Comment by Kathy graham | July 23, 2017 | Reply

  2. Did yo fill the world with love? I remember those 10 minute walks with you from the Midway Airport Chapel to the car. It would take 30 – 45 minutes to get there because of all the people stopping you to say hello. Fr., you are sooo loved.

    Comment by Gerry Ryan | July 23, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

