God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Life Without God Has No Meaning


Catacombs of Paris. Image taken in October 2007 by Djtox, via Wikipedia

Some years ago in Paris, I visited the catacombs, the burial ground of the dead of the City back in the time around 1850 A.D. These catacombs, located under elegant boulevards in the central park of Paris, opened a new way of thinking for me about life.

I went down 100 feet below the unending sound of traffic and the rush of life above. The eerie silence of the tomb enveloped me. I said to myself this is the way it will be when they close the lid on my coffin. In my 45 minute walk through this House of the Dead, (I was the only one there), I saw pyramids of skulls on both sides.

I said to myself, “Is this the way my life is going to end? Why am I so taken up with the world and all its follies?” I went up the stairs to life above and rejoiced that I still had a chance to live. This experience changed my attitude towards God and the work I was doing in His Name. I tried mightily to make Him the object of my efforts instead of setting myself and self-glory as my goal.

Each day people leave this earthly home – some expected, some taken by surprise. Last month in England, over 80 people who had gone to bed with the worries of the day, and the dreams of tomorrow on their minds and in their dreams, perished in the fire that consumed the Grenfell tower. Death came. Life was over. Had they lived their lives with reference to God? A life without God has no meaning. The survivors may have a different attitude towards life.

One day, as I was driving past Holy Sepulcher Cemetery on our South Side, my car engine began to overheat. I pulled into the Shell gas station. The mechanic (yes, gas stations back in those days had a mechanic on duty), said it would take an hour to put in a new thermostat. I walked up and down, fuming and fussing at the thought of the lost hour. Then, I looked across at the Cemetery and realized that just 150 yards away, under a grove of trees, was my final resting place next to my mother and father. My attitude changed completely.

Keep God and our last end in mind. Life could take on a new complexion of peace and enjoyment. A few years ago, I printed up my Wake Service and Funeral Mass programs, all ready for the Great Hour of passing from this world to the next. I don’t want \death to come as a surprise to me. My everyday prayer . . . “Take me today Lord, if you wish.” Each day, I accept the Gift and Graces he continues to bestow on me.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

July 16, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Just a beautiful thought. It’s changed my whole day today. 12th and we just look at the present and forget how blessed we are just to be living.
    Thanks,
    Bud Weston

    Comment by Bud Weston | July 16, 2017 | Reply

  2. Reblogged this on meanlittleboy2 and commented:
    LIVING THE LIFE WITH GOD is hard enough, Living without? Impossible

    Comment by meanlittleboy2 | July 16, 2017 | Reply

  3. Oh dear FR George, how my heart aches at the thought of you leaving this world! You have been such a great source of support and guidance for me. I learn something new from you with every new blog post. And I also learn something about myself when I reflect on your words. I will miss you when you’re gone. But life is uncertain and I may go before you. One never knows. I just hope that I am able to live a good life as a good Catholic. I love you, FR George!! Praying for you, my friend.

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | July 16, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

