God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Heart Transplant


Disputation of Holy Sacrament by Raphael
Via WIkipedia

In early June, 1999, Father Donald Senior, a renowned Scripture scholar, spoke to some 600 of us Chicago Priests on the subject: Jesus of Nazareth.  A story he told us has remained with me through the last 18 years.  Stories are valuable vehicles for touching the hearts of listeners and leaving a life changing truth.

Listen to the story he related to us.  A man was waiting for a heart transplant.  During this time, his daughter was killed in an auto accident.  The doctors offered the father his daughter’s heart and, at first, he refused.  But then he said, “What would my daughter want?”  So, he accepted his daughter’s heart.  Afterwards, he kept saying, “I’ll never be the same.  Within me beats a heart that has always loved me!”  An unusual story.

When we receive Christ in the Eucharist, a temporary heart transplant takes place for 15 minutes.  The Lord comes and puts aside our human heart so that His Heart can possess our being.  Then, we can say . . . “I’ll never be the same!  Within me beats a Heart that has always loved me.” . . . This Heart of Christ filled with devotion for the Father and the Spirit, pumps its life giving gifts through our whole bodily system.  The courage, the gentleness, the patience of the Master courses through our veins . . . “I’ll never be the same” . . .

Our whole being becomes alive with new life as the Heart of Christ works to pump strength and goodness into our being.  The greater our faith in the Coming of the Eucharist Christ to us the more He can do for us.  Are we exaggerating when we speak like this?  NO!  Believe in immediate miracles lining us from a mediocre way of living to new heights of glory!

The Heart of Christ pumps “purified” blood into our gran, the seat of our mind and will.  This invigorating blood gives rise to holy desires, new determination to serve God.  A Protestant clergyman once said, “If I believed in the Real Presence of Christ in the Eucharist, it would take a team of horses to keep me from receiving the Lord every week.”  To take another person for granted lessens his worth in our eyes.  Are we doing this to the Eucharistic Person?

The New Heart within us “purifies” our bad blood by removing anger, ill will, and tendencies to evil.  One Eucharist has enough power to make a person an immediate saint!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

June 24, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Dear Father George, Happy Birthday.
    Just checking in are you okay

    Comment by Matt Marich | July 9, 2017 | Reply

  2. How beautiful, Father George! I have to tell you that since my return to church, (with your assistance and encouragement) I have had such a transformation when receiving communion. I think of all the years when I was so blasé about receiving it. What a waste that was! Now, I do feel a deep awareness and real presence of Our Lord. And I say in my mind over and over, “Sacred Heart of Jesus, may the whole world burn with love for you,”. A very powerful experience. As I continue to recover I hope to be able to attend mass more than once a week. Thanks for a beautiful example in your story above. Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | July 12, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

