God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Prayer Of Lasting Value


My First Mass

Shortly after Ordination to the Priesthood on May 6, 1944, Cardinal Stritch assigned me to the City of Youth, St. Mary’s Training School, now known as Maryville Academy, a home for dependent children in Des Plaines, Illinois. 850 boys and girls, normal and healthy in every way, from nursery age through high school, called St. Mary’s their year round home. This would be my home for five years.

In the center of the campus school stood the Chapel, the heart of the school, where during Lent, the students came each week for the Stations of the Cross. One line in these devotions reappeared in each of the Stations: “Lord, grant that I may always love You. Then do with me what Thou will.”

Though the past 73 years, I find that this prayer has stayed with me. At unexpected moments, especially in times of failures, disappointments, and pain, I hear myself saying. . . “Lord, grant that I may always love You. Then do with me what Thou will.” This prayer gives balance to my life, keeping me from tipping over into despair.

The words, spoken in faith, say: “I need only one thing in life, Your Love, Lord. Not success, not the applause of the crowd or material advancement. This is another way of saying: “I submit to all the difficult happenings of life, Lord, but do not take Your Love away from me.”

During one of my many stays in Jerusalem, I sat across the dining table from men and women from 18 different nations. Among them there were 40 Polish Priests. From all parts of the world, these pilgrims, at much personal sacrifice, had come to visit the Holy City and pray in the places sacred to the memory of Jesus of Nazareth. All these people, friendly and open to conversation with other pilgrims, expressed enthusiasm about the place of Christ in their lives. Jesus of Nazareth held center stage in their thoughts.

When life deals a hard blow, a follower of the Lord can keep calm and tranquil by whispering these words: “Lord, grant that I may always love You. Then do with me what Thou will.”

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 6, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Happy Anniversary Uncle George! For 73 years you have been a faithful servant of this Jesus of Nazareth. You model His Love and Peace in all you say and do, and you bring His message of Hope to the world through your timeless messages. You are an inspiration to all you meet, in person, and through this Blog. I Love You.

    Comment by Joe | May 6, 2017 | Reply

  2. Happy Anniversary, Fr. George! How God blessed us with your presence in our lives to teach His love for us.

    Comment by Larry K. - QS 70 | May 6, 2017 | Reply

  3. Happy Anniversary Fr. I pray that you continue in good health, that we may read your words for a long time yet. God Bless.

    Comment by barttimm | May 6, 2017 | Reply

  4. Your priesthood has blessed the world Fr. George…every moment of these 73 years! Happy Ordination Anniversary! In Mary’s month of May…how pleased she is with the work you have done…all these years…for Her Son! I am eternally grateful for meeting you on this day at MDW chapel as you celebrated Mass on your 60th anniversary.
    Blessings, Love & Gratitude, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | May 6, 2017 | Reply

  5. Happy 73rd Anniversary, Fr George!! Thank you for your continued words of wisdom.

    Comment by Steve Molidor | May 6, 2017 | Reply

  6. Happy Anniversary Fr. George! Greatly appreciate your love for our Lord and helping others find him too.

    Comment by Karen Reichert | May 6, 2017 | Reply

  7. God bless you Fr. McKenna on your anniversary of the priesthood..Thank you for all your service. Praying for you. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Anonymous | May 6, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

