God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Grand Adventure


Ashes imposed on the forehead of a Christian on Ash Wednesday Photo by Jennifer Balaska via Wikipedia

Ashes imposed on the forehead of a Christian
on Ash Wednesday
Photo by Jennifer Balaska via Wikipedia

Twenty-five years ago, on New Year’s Day, I offered Mass in the Grotto of the Nativity, located beneath the Basilica of the Nativity in Bethlehem, in the Holy Land.

All studies point to this location as the true birthplace of the Holy Child, Who came two thousand years ago to save us from our weaknesses. On this particular day, a group of American pilgrims from St. Louis, attended the Mass and sung “Adeste Fideles” and “O’ Holy Night”. I remember saying to myself on that cold, rainy and windy day, “What a perfect way to begin a new year, at Bethlehem where Jesus of Nazareth was born.”

I have made 27 trips to this sacred area, 13 of them since that January in 1992, and throughout the years, family and friends asked me, “Why do you keep going back to the Holy Land, year after year?” My answer was always the same: “I go because when my time comes to die, I want to say to myself, ‘I tried my best to know this Jesus of Nazareth.”

All other adventures in life pale in the presence of this Grand Adventure of searching for a deeper friendship with the Christ of the Gospels. During Lent, in 1992, a priest friend of mine, then 85 years young, made his 21st pilgrimage to the Holy Land.

What am I going to do this Lent? I will be conscious of how few Lents are left for me! Each day is a gift. Prayer will have first priority in my Lenten days, not a dreary saying of words, but rather a joyful uplifting of my spirit to this Great Person of the Gospels. I’ll spend time in our chapel, in the Real Presence of Christ.

I will offer up any pains that come along in union with the sufferings of Christ – no complaining! Less time spent looking at TV will give me more time to pray and be with Jesus of Nazareth. My traveling days may be over, but within my heart and mind, I can still be present with My Lord.

Make this Lent of 2017 A Glorious Adventure!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 6, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Father, I do have Jesus in my heart and pray severval times a day but I still don’t know where I’ll be when I die.

    Comment by Marty Giles | March 11, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

