God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

St. Valentine’s Day


Saint Valentine receives a rosary from the Virgin,  by David Teniers III, via Wikipedia

Saint Valentine receives a rosary from the Virgin,
by David Teniers III, via Wikipedia

One St. Valentine’s Day, many, many years ago, in 1933, I walked into my Eight Grade classroom after lunch and discovered a little candy heart on my desk with this simple message written on it in small letters, “I Love You!”

The giver never gave herself away and left me guessing which of the five or six girls left it.  This incident involving a candy heart about the size of a thumbnail made a lasing mark on my mind.  I was never to forget it.

If one wishes to leave a permanent impression behind, that person could deposit a string of “candy hearts” in the lives of huge numbers of people.

In my case, the kind classmate left an endearing memory in my mind, only to be erased by death.  I thought to myself, “Someone cares for me!”

This feeling uplifted my spirits and gave me confidence for the future.  Ask ourselves, who has helped us the most, to believe in our own self-worth, who has helped us prepare best for the hard knocks of life?  The answer always turns out to be the person who showed us love and respect.

Paul tells us today, “What eye has not seen, and ear has not heard, and what has not entered the human heart, what God has prepared for those who love him.”  Share God’s Love with all those you meet.  Scatter loving thoughts, words and actions in all directions as we make our way along in life.  Perhaps, 84 years from now, someone will be writing about one of the little “candy hearts” you left along the way.

 Fr. George Mc Kenna

February 13, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. A beautiful story to take to heart.
    Miss you Father George.
    Matt Marich

    Comment by Matt Marich | February 13, 2017 | Reply

  2. This is a treasured Valentine remembrance…thank you for this beautiful, simple instruction…leaving a “trail of joyful heart gifts” along life’s journey❤️ Happy Valentine’s Day to you Fr. George❣ Blessings, Gratitude & Love, marianne

    Comment by mcs | February 13, 2017 | Reply

  3. What a wonderful message! Thank you so much for sharing! GOD bless you! 🙂

    Comment by Tai East | February 13, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

