God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Right Words At The Right Time


The Church of the Beatitudes – Via Wikipedia

The Church of the Beatitudes – Via Wikipedia

Years ago, a friend gave me the book “The Right Words at the Right Time” as a Christmas present.  Marlo Thomas, daughter of Danny Thomas, the comedian, asked 120 famous and near famous people of our time this question, “What words spoken to you changed the direction of your life?”  All proceeds of the book go to the benefit of St. Jude Hospital for Children, founded by her father in Memphis, Tennessee.

Tom Brokow, the TV journalist, wrote this about himself, “in High School, I was a go-getter and a top student.  Then, at the University of South Dakota, I pursued the easy going life – just getting by in my studies.  I spent most of my time on my social life.  My girlfriend, Meredith, told me, ‘get lost.  You have no focus in life.’   One day, in my second year, the Dean of Political Science Department, a highly regarded scholar, said to me, ‘Tom, I have some advice for you – leave the university immediately.  When you have stopped pursing the dream of wine, women and song, come back to me.  Maybe I can help you.’”

The words shocked Tom as no words ever did before.  He left the university and after one year returned, a changed man.  He went on to become a famous TV journalist and even married Meredith.

We can apply the theme of this thought provoking book to our own lives.  When the angel Gabriel came to Mary and proclaimed, “you shall conceive and bear a Son and give Him the name Jesus”, they were the most historic words ever said.  “Jesus” means Savior, Messiah.  A Savior was to come to earth, in human form, to save us from our weaknesses.

The realization may strike us that for a long time we have been facing the struggles of life on our own powers and doing poorly.  We have a Savior, at the present day, human like ourselves, the Friendliest Person we will ever meet.  This Jesus can enrich our lives as never before by putting in our hearts a yearning for His Ideals.  He speaks of them in today’s Gospel, in the Beatitudes: Blessed are the poor in spirit, Blessed are they who mourn, Blessed are the meek, Blessed are they who hunger for righteousness, Blessed are the merciful, Blessed are the clean of heart, Blessed are the peacemakers, Blessed are those who believe in me, “Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven.”

The right words, at the right time; these sacred words of the Gospel could change the direction of our lives.  Turn daily to Him in prayer for His Love and Friendship are endless.

 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

January 28, 2017 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Fr. McKenna, a couple of weeks ago I asked for your prayers regarding a financial situation I thought I was going to be in. Turns out things will be better than I thought. Thank you for the prayers and following insight.
    Again you have posted a bulletin that is so down to earth and meaningful.

    Comment by Gerry Ryan | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  2. Thank you Father George and bless you for faithfully giving us your wise insight and messages of guidance to help us along life’s journey.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Comment by Comcast | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  3. Fr. McKenna, the title of this blog is so fitting for YOU. It always seems like you have the right words at the right time. Thank you for your continued spiritual guidance to all of us. You are amazing!

    Comment by Anonymous | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  4. Father George, thank you. I find much comfort in your words, and love being able to get your wisdom and thoughts each week through this blog.

    Comment by Anonymous | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  5. Thank you Fr Mckenna for your faith and encouraging words.Your family in heaven is very proud of you in you ministry and so am I .👍✝️🙏🏻

    .

    Comment by Paul Krueger | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  6. As always your 3 minutes are most enlighten words for us to live by. I sure miss our times together.
    Matt Marich

    Comment by Anonymous | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  7. Sent from my iPad

    >

    Comment by Kathleen Fitzgerald | January 28, 2017 | Reply

  8. Your writings are a witness to God’s unchanging, ever-present nature of loving mercy. Keep posting. Many are listening to Him because of you. I know I am.

    Comment by Ed Miskovic | January 29, 2017 | Reply

  9. Thank you, Father McKenna: Your words change me every day. I am so fortunate to be able to receive your words. Thank you for your love and direction.
    Jan B

    Comment by Jan Berry | February 9, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

