God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

God Answers All Prayers


prayerOne day, back in 1933, Sister Angelista, CSC, our 8th Grade teacher at St. Theodore’s School brought five of us boys down six flights of stairs to the Church. Sister, not a youngster, placed us in different parts of the Church and told us to pray about our poor conduct in class. In the time give us, I mulled over my selfishness in bringing Sister Angelista up and down those long stairways. When Sister came back, I was still praying on my knees asking God to give me some sense. I consider those minutes a watershed experience in my life, an occasion of change of outlook on life. Prayer took on preciousness for me. Sister Angelista came to my First Mass.

We need prayer as much as we need food, drink and air. I treasure prayer, conversation with God, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit as the best of all gifts. In speaking to God, I enter into the presence of these Three Holy Persons, and share my thoughts and hopes with Them. Oftentimes people lose interest in prayer because it seems to them that God has turned a deaf ear to their prayers.

Let the word go forth that God answers all prayers. This is not a matter, on God’s part, of picking and choosing from all the prayers that rise to Heaven. Perhaps a few examples will make this good news clear. Suppose I have been praying for peace in the world? Nothing appears to be happening. Unknown to me, in a home down the street from me, where every day, loud and angry voices spill out hateful words, a sudden stillness comes. The members of the family begin to respect each other. A lasting peace has come to a little part of the world. God has answered my prayer!

Many of God’s people suffer pain, exhausting sicknesses. Their please to God begs the Almighty to take away all this discomfort, but many times, the sick conditions stay as they are. Has God refused to hear their prayers? No! One morning, a new attitude of acceptance comes into the mind of the distraught patient . . . I will bear with this pain for the Love of God! . . . Peace and courage fill the heart! These new insights come as an answer to prayer.

I, speaking for myself personally, find this truth about God hearing and answering all prayers most consoling! When I am experiencing dark nights of the soul, I cry out, “Jesus, Help me!”, again and again. How helpful to believe that those few words are flying into the Face of God! Gradually, peace and light fill my once disturbed spirit. In other words, no prayer is ever wasted – thanks, praise, sorrow, petition.

Many times in 8th Grade, Sister Angelista encouraged me to think of the Priesthood, but only in the final days of the school year did that way of life look inviting. Was Sister praying for me all year?

Fr. George Mc Kenna

October 23, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] via God Answers All Prayers — God is Good! […]

    Pingback by God Answers All Prayers — God is Good! | meanlittleboy2 | October 23, 2016 | Reply

    • Thank you father, I needed to hear that today!

      Comment by Anonymous | October 24, 2016 | Reply

  2. Your examples of God answering prayers have rekindled an old, but neglected, practice of praying for my neighbors by name and by place of residence. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Ed Miskovic | November 3, 2016 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George!

    I’ve been so busy and distracted here with house projects and with Tim having a bad back, I haven’t had time to comment on your posts. I think of you and pray for you every day, my dear friend! I hope that you are doing well. We have now changed our clocks and it gets so dark here – not liking that! I have been in the midst of a 54 day rosary novena to Our Lady – 27 days for petition and 27 for thanksgiving. It gives me such peace to start my day with saying the Rosary. I should do this every single day! We are doing well here – we had to stay with friends for 5 nights while our floors were getting refinished – they took us in (even the dog) and I was the chef of the house – which they greatly appreciated. We finally have gotten our house back in order – I would not do well with a full blown remodel! Tim had very severe back and leg pain, but he is slowly getting better – he had to have a steroid injection into his spine last week which should help him recover quicker.

    I appreciate your writings so much, dear Fr. George! As I read this, I can picture you with your classmates, serving your ‘detention’. And I love the practical example of how praying for world peace may bring peace into one household. I think a lot of people treat prayer like the toy, the Magic 8 ball – and that God grants wishes instead of answering prayers. Just like with my Rosary novena, after 27 days, you start praying a prayer of thanksgiving – even before you may have gotten your prayer answered, because it may be answered but not in the way you had asked. My prayers this go around will be known soon, and I am trying to not have anxiety – I’m trying to just resign myself to the will of God.

    One more thing: I was able to go to St. James Cathedral in Seattle and participate in the Holy Father’s Doors of Mercy. It was a very meaningful exercise, followed by confession and attending Mass/receiving communion. I met the ‘requirements’ for the year of Mercy. It was a beautiful exercise.

    My dear friend, you are never far in thought! I hope that you got to cheer on the Cubs winning the World Series! (or are you a White Sox fan??) I was a Cubs fan from my high school days and attended many a game at Wrigley Field. I was pretty thrilled that they won game 7 and FINALLY won the World Series after 108 years! Hopefully that draught won’t last another 108 years!

    Take care, dear Father, and know that I am thinking of you and praying for you.

    I love you!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | November 7, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

