God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Appreciate The Sufferings Of Jesus


Tomb of Jesus, inside the Edicule.  Church of the Holy Sepulchre, Jerusalem  Photo by adriatikus via Wikipedia

Tomb of Jesus, inside the Edicule.
Church of the Holy Sepulchre, Jerusalem
Photo by adriatikus via Wikipedia

In recent years, I have come to value the sufferings of Jesus as never before.  In my three pilgrimages to Jerusalem in 1995, ’96 and ’97, all taken in the month of January, I stayed with the Sisters of Sion, at their Center for Biblical Study.  The address of their residence is 12, Via Dolorosa (The Sorrowful Way), the Way of the Cross.  Just outside their front door stands the First Station of the Cross, “Jesus is Condemned to Death.”

Directly next door, to the east of the residence were two chapels, one of the Scourging of the Lord and the other, the Crowing of Thorns, both within 200 feet.  Oftentimes, in the early morning or late evening, as I stood on the second floor balcony, I imagined I could hear the swish of the cat-of-nine tails descending on the bruised back of the Lord.  At other times, as the soldiers drove the thorns into His Head, the pain-filled cry of Jesus touched my heart to its depths.

In the Lower Level of the residence was the original courtyard of Pontius Pilate, where Our Savior received His unjust sentence of Crucifixion.  As I offered Mass there in this low ceiling Holy Place, the huge stone slabs seemed to cry out – “Be holy as the Master was holy!  Suffer your trials in life with patience!”  Yes, as I lived for many days in this area of Christ’s Sufferings, these three years changed me.

During my stay, every day I walked the three blocks of the Way of the Cross to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher, the place of the Crucifixion.  Only three blocks – but how exhausting was the experience with the rough roadway ascending and descending, twisting and turning, at times leading through the crowded bazaars.  In those three years I discovered the Chapel of Veronica at the Sixth Station, a heavenly place to offer Mass.  I asked God to let me be a person like her and give comfort to the Suffering Christ.  Remember, she wiped the Face of Christ.

From these experiences I concluded that sin can have no place in my life.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 27, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Such a good reminder to suffer our trials with patience. Though its not easy, never give up on The Lord or that he has forsaken you. Great reminder today. Thank you Fr. McKenna always enjoy your words of faith. Have a Blessed day!

    Comment by Kimberly reicher | September 28, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

