God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Surprise Package


chapelle de la rue du Bac  by jean-louis Zimmermann via wikipedia

chapelle de la rue du Bac
by jean-louis Zimmermann via wikipedia

We enjoy pleasant surprises!  Something unexpected happens and fills an empty corner of our heart with a new delight in living.  I remember a time, many years ago, while I was cleaning out the backseat of my car, I came upon something in a plastic wrapper.  I said, “What is this?”  Then, I remembered.  My brother had given me this package about a year earlier.  Taking off the wrapping, I found myself holding a statue of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal – about 18 inches tall.

What a happy discovery for me!  Through the years I have found much consolation in my devotion to Mary by this special title.  I was delighted that I would have a vision of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal to set up in my bedroom chapel.  Even though a few chips of paint were missing here and there, along with the slight fading of its blue and white colors, the statue had stood the test of time well.  In fact, I thought those blemishes gave my statue an air of antiquity!

I hastened at that time, August, 1996, to put my new precious possession on top of my dresser, a piece of furniture about four feet high.  Through the years, Our Lady, with her two outstretched arms and open hands at her side, looked down upon me with love and serenity, inviting me to come and share my day’s happenings with her.  I would put my two elbows on top of the dresser and put my bowed head into my hands in reverence and humility before this vision of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal.  During this time I experienced much peace!

In Paris, the Cathedral of Notre Dame holds first place in my heart.  My second favorite shrines stands in the Rue du Bac.  “Rue” in French, is “street”.  In this place, the Chapel of Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal attracts crowds of people every day.  Nowhere in the world have I witnessed such a spirit of prayer and love for Mary than in the Rue du Bac.

Back in 1830, Our Lady appeared to a Sister of Charity, Sister Catherine Laboure, in a sanctuary of the Chapel.  In these visions, Mary had her foot on the head of a snake lying at her feet, no doubt, the devil from the Garden of Eden.  In one visit, Our Lady asked Sister Catherine to have a medal made; on the front side there was to be a vision of Mary as she came to the nun, on the other side there was to be a symbol of Our Lady’s name.  These words were to appear on the first side, “Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to thee.”

In years gone by, I made this Chapel on the Rue du Bac a special place of prayer, asking for help from Mary for my needs, especially those related to my Priesthood.  So, the reader will understand why finding this statue in my car struck me as a message from Our Lady . . . Put new spirit into your trust in me . . . she seems to be saying to me . . . be sinless as I, your Mother am! 

Thoughts and prayers of remembrance for 9/11!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 10, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Nice article, you are so faithful, I wish I had your faith. I feel that my church “St. Catherine of Siena” is the best church in the world. It just give off a spirit when you walk in. I am thankful to God that he placed me into St. Catherine’s. Keep up the good work Father and thanks for the Quigley years and the continued inspiration.
    Dave Grayson

    Comment by Dave Grayson | September 10, 2016 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George! Thank you for this post! I also delight in finding things that I might have not known they were there – for me, it is usually a few dollars in a pocket of a jacket that I haven’t worn in awhile!

    I really never even knew about Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal until one day, I was a the famous Pike Place Market in Seattle and some gentleman had a card table set up with free rosaries – and on the rosary was a Miraculous Medal and an accompanying pamphlet explaining this Medal and the history of it. I was fascinated! Mary comes to us in so many ways. I love a book about Mary, called Looking for Mary, which follows a famous author and her trip to Medjugorie, (spelling?) and all the times that Mary showed herself to people throughout the ages. I have a great devotion to her. Even before I returned to attending mass (per your urging), I was saying the rosary, to help me handle the extreme stress of being away from my ailing mother and all of her medical issues. It brought me great comfort during that time. I started today (9/11) with saying the Rosary. Such a terrible day, 15 years ago… praying for the souls of those lost and for those affected by that day. I, like so many people, can remember exactly where I was when I heard of the first plane hitting the tower. Being on the West Coast, it was before 7 am and I was getting ready for work.

    I pray that we never face anything like that again – and, as Mary asked, I pray for peace in the world and in individual souls. If we truly love one another (as Jesus taught us was the greatest and the first commandment) then we would have peace.

    Love you, ,dear friend! You are never far in my thoughts and prayers!
    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | September 11, 2016 | Reply

  3. Beautiful as always, thank-you.

    Comment by Matt Marich | September 11, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

