God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Have A Goal For The Day


The Lord is My Shepherd Eastman Johnson Smithsonian American Art Museum via Wikipedia

The Lord is My Shepherd
Eastman Johnson
Smithsonian American Art Museum via Wikipedia

On this Labor Day weekend, I will share with you a practice that has helped me greatly throughout the years.  To give direction to my day, I put a few key words on a sheet of paper, 8 inches by 11 inches, with a heavy ink marker.  Through the day, this paper with its slogan hangs in a conspicuous place in my room.  These short messages come from my own imagination, for the most part, so that these words have a personal meaning to me.

Stay Calm; Stay Cool

You can see, the example above is just a few cryptic words, easy to remember and they carry a powerful message of good.  My watchwords set before me my goal for the day, my ideal.  Below you see some other maxims that have made my days more rewarding.  Remember – just one maxim a day!

Laugh Much; Complain Little

Praise Often; Seldom Criticize

Much Anger; Much Loss

A Loving Heart; A Bright Face

A Fearful Heart; An Unfulfilled Day

The Lord Is My Shepherd

Count Blessings; Accept Life’s Aches

Judge Not, Meddle Not In Other’s Affairs

Love Is Patient, Love Is Kind

Have confidence that you too, with a little patience can think up your own original phrases to help yourself through the day.  In cheerfully carrying out the messages of your daily slogan, you will bring much other good into your life.  This practice helps me because I have one definite goal before my eyes all through the day.

Refuse To Give Up

Forgive And Forget

Put your words in a prominent place so that you will notice them through the day.  Use a piece of cardboard to give backing to your paper.  A restful Labor Day weekend to all.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 7, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thank you that is such a good idea. Hope you have many peaceful days ahead.

    Arlene Johnson

    Comment by Arlene A. Johnson | September 7, 2016 | Reply

  2. LOVE IT!! LOVE IT!! Thank you!!

    Comment by K | September 7, 2016 | Reply

  3. They are only a couple of words each time, but the combination is powerful! One of your best blogs.

    Comment by Gerry Ryan | September 18, 2016 | Reply

  4. I happened to read this while doing my daily to-do list. What I like about your suggestion is that it is a reminder as to why I’m doing things on a given day. Someday, I suspect, what I may or may not have completed will be less important than how I did it. Your idea of maxims is a way to adopt the mind of Christ in daily living. Thanks.

    Comment by Ed Miskovic | September 27, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

