God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

5 Years for God Is Good!


Fr. George McKenna from the 1954 Quigley Year Book!

Fr. George McKenna
from the 1954 Quigley Year Book!

Dear faithful followers of Fr. George McKenna’s blog – God Is Good!

My name is Joe Tucker.  I am blessed to be Fr. McKenna’s nephew by marriage.  Five years ago, Uncle George was looking for a way to continue his evangelization and ministry as a Priest.  We discussed the possibility of a Blog – and God Is Good was born.  Through the years, this outreach, to you his faithful followers, has brought him energy, life, happiness and a will to live.

God Is Good has surpassed his wildest expectations – over the course of these five years, over 33,000 people from 129 different countries have viewed his spiritual messages; over 1,000 have left him uplifting comments on the 276 posts he has published; his biggest day for visitors had 347 views of his various posts.  Not bad for a ‘retired’ priest who just celebrated his 97th Birthday last month!

Uncle George reviews all the comments each week with his nieces who visit him on the weekend.  He is delighted that he can still serve Jesus of Nazareth in a meaningful and fun way.  Truly – God Is GOOD!  Thank you for your love and support.

August 4, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins

21 Comments »

  1. I surely look forward to each of these posts! I think of Father often and keep him in my daily prayer…and in a special way on this feast of Saint John Vianney – patron of parish priests. God bless you Father McKenna!! Beth Doyle

    Comment by Anonymous | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  2. My Dear Father George. I am so grateful that our Lord arranged my hiring at the airport so I can meet you and cherish our friendship over these years. I meeting you in 1988 was a void being filled in my life. I thank our Lord often.
    Hope your doing well,
    Matt Marich

    Comment by Matt Marich | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  3. Fr. George,
    Marianne, Elaine, Paul and I appreciate your monthly emails. It reminds of of the frond ship you shared with our family. You have our deepest love and prayers

    Bud Weston

    Comment by Anonymous | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  4. Congratulations and blessings to Father McKenna and Joe on 5 years of blogging. God is indeed good and blogging is a wonderful way for Father to continue his ministry. I love the stories and positive outlook on life. Thank you!

    Comment by Espirational | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  5. Fr. George, my sisters Marianne and Elaine, my brother Paul and I want you to know we cherish the friendship you and our family have enjoyed for so many years. And it is not hard to think about your sister and our mother’s long time friendship with our Mom.

    Bud Weston

    Comment by Ed Weston | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  6. My mom and I love reading your blog. We still talk about how much we enjoyed your mass at Midway Airport! So inspiring. We’re currently rereading volume 2, “I’ll only speak for three minutes.” We miss you!

    Comment by Corrine & Helen Ganiec | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  7. Fr. McKenna congratulations. You are an amazing man and I consider myself the luckiest man alive having known and listen to you. My favorite observation of yours is the reference to Mary and Notre Dame. All the best!
    Your past eye doctor,
    Francis X. Cottone

    Comment by Anonymous | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  8. Father George, you are the best. I am so proud to have met you at Quigley in 1955 and that we kept our friendship together. I always appreciated the notes you would send me, I realize you can’t do that now but you are always on my mind. Fr. John Carolyn is doing well, he does not say Mass but he does attend every Sunday, like a good Catholic. Thank you for your many kindnesses over the years and I still have a few of your books and give them away as gifts. I will probably be ordering more in about 6 months. God Bless You! Dave Grayson

    Comment by Dave Grayson | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  9. Dear Joe,
    Thanks for the update of Father George. I met him when he lived in a Bayport condo and have valued his friendship since then. Please tell him that Ray and Eileen wish him the best.
    Thanks.
    Eileen Carroll-Lynch

    Comment by Anonymous | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  10. Father: I was at Quigley for the 5 years 1955 to 60. Remember you so well. Just celebrated my 75th as did all my classmates, Jack Kennedy, Jim Tansey and Johnny Sewell. We all keep you in our prayers and are so grateful for the faith you instilled in all of us and continue to nurture to this day. God love you. Dick Barry Class 1-A

    Comment by Dick Barry | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  11. Fr McKenna my best wishes to you always! You gave me so many wonderful stories
    and sermons I am truly blessed to have known you and it helps me every day!! I have been so very proud and lucky to know you

    Comment by Deborah Novak | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  12. We are so grateful Fr. George for the gift of your priesthood…guiding us, His sheep! Thankful that you & Joe “teamed up” to bring your faith-filled wisdom & instruction to thousands of readers! What a difference you make in our world! Meeting you at the Midway Chapel on your 60th ordination anniversary was a gift! “The Chief Pilot” put that in the flight plan! With love & gratitude, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | August 4, 2016 | Reply

  13. Thank you for that information! I attended St. Barnabas back in the 70s and Father McKenna was my mom’s favorite priest. He was so kind to her during a very difficult time of divorce. Back them you just didn’t get divorced . He insisted that us four children would remain in the school even though my mother didn’t have the tuition money anymore. I never knew this until I was an adult.  My mother now resides at Smith Village nursing home. I read his blogs for her from time to time. She’s amazed he’s still writing- God is good! I’d love to bring my mother to visit him sometime, although she’s in a wheel chair. If this is a possibility please let me know.  Thank you, God bless, Kathleen (Knudsen) MartinMy mother’s name is also Kathleen but she goes by Kay. Kay Kennedy Knudsen

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    Comment by Kathy Martin | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  14. Joe,
    I worked with Kay, Father McKenna’s sister, she was my work mother. She had her brother to officiate at my wedding back in 1967. Over the years I kept in touch with her on and off, and the last time I talked to her on the phone, Father George was there. I was so happy I found his blog years ago and always look forward to his weekly blog. I have his book on my table which he sent to me. Please convey to him a hello.

    Comment by mamaknows9 | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  15. Thank you for all of your writings. Have your wonderful books that I have read and re-read. For your weekly writing. I do hope you know how much you have helped people with their faith. God gave us all a wonderful blessing in you. Thank you for becoming a Priest and serving God. We need more of your kind. God bless you !!

    Comment by K | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  16. Hope God spares you till 100 if you would like that. Still pray ” Jesus of Nazareth I have faith and hope in you” as you recommended in one of your messages.thank you for them.I’m from Peterborough in UK and loo😇k out for your blogs.

    Comment by Joe Harrington | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  17. Wow, belated Happy Birthday, Fr. McKenna! Look forward to your blog every week and pass it on to my kids and grandkids for your wisdom and guidance. They also know that you were our “fodder” at Maryville and were responsible for my growth in our Catholic faith and love of the Lord. Thanks for all you have done and all you still do. Joan Kilgallon Heller

    Comment by Joan | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  18. Hi Fr. George (and Joe!),

    Thank you, Joe, for helping with the publishing of this blog – I’m sure that Fr. George never dreamed that he would reach so many people in such a ‘high-tech’ way! We are all blessed by his words!

    And, Fr. George, I was reading the other comments, it is so nice to see how many long-term friendships you have created! You have such a wonderfully kind way, that you bless all those that are lucky enough to meet you, Father! I count myself VERY lucky to have met you in 2008, at the Midway Airport chapel! The Holy Spirit knew I needed you in my life on that day and at that hour when the announcement for mass starting there on that day when I was flying back to Seattle. As they say, ‘the rest is history’! I’m praying for you often, and you are never far from me in thought. We are so blessed to continue to be able to read your rich writings. Every post that you publish is a true gift! I will cherish you always, my dear friend!

    Love you,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  19. Dear Father Mc Kenna, thank you for 5 years of beautiful reflections. You are an inspiration to me. I belong to the Ignatlan Volunteer Corp and for the last 4 years I have written reflections for their blog, Footprints, 24 to date. You can find it at ivcusa.org the Chicago chapter if you are at all interested. Rich Pozdol QPS ’59

    Comment by Anonymous | August 5, 2016 | Reply

  20. God Bless Father George and his wonderful family. To continue to lead a purposeful and meaningful life of faith is inspiring. Gratefully, Nan Brennan

    Comment by Nan Brennan | August 6, 2016 | Reply

  21. Dear Father George
    We love you just the way you are. In many ways I wish there were more priest like you. Unfortunately there in but one Fr George. I enjoy visits with you and I’m delighted that I’m lucky enough to have met someone such as you. Your sermons were great short but to the point. I still go to Sunday Mass. But in some cases the other priest fail in their attempt to get the word across to me. Their sermons are long and disjointed . Perhaps I should pay more attention. But in your case not only did you make your point, but I was inclined to receive an education as well. Doris and I do pray everyday for you. Thanks father

    Comment by Al and Doris Perez | August 23, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

