God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

No Greater Adventure


“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”  Martin Luther King, Jr. Jesus is the Light, and the Love the world needs. Picture via Wikipedia.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” Martin Luther King, Jr.
Jesus is the Light, and the Love the world needs.
Picture via Wikipedia.

Two pilots, a man and a woman, flew around the world in their light plan without refueling, a first time in aviation history, a dream of six years come true. On the morning of their landing, after flying non-stop for 9 days, their delight and satisfaction shone out through their smiles and laughter.

For the last 72 years, as I have gone to wakes to pray for the dead, I invariably find myself asking the same question. Kneeling next to the coffin, looking at the deceased, I say “How well did this person know Christ?  Of how much importance was the Lord to this person in the past?”  Now, death has come to take away all future chances of seeking the Lord.  In my estimation, the answer to these questions would determine the success and fulfillment of a person’s life.

In a daily searching for Christ, all humans have the best means of satisfying this yearning for adventure. The quest for a knowledge of and a closeness to the Person of the Lord, outshines all other adventures: the climb of Mt. Everest, the sailing around the world in a small sail boat, or the flying of a plane around the globe.

The Lord does not reside in a remote, impenetrable castle. Jesus said, “I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone opens for Me, I will enter and sup with him.”  The exciting adventure of seeking the Lord lies in its life long experience of daily searching for His companionship, not just for a few days or weeks.

While thirsting for adventure, still many people hold back, thinking that this quest will put them in straight jackets, with life becoming a series of “dos” and “don’ts”. Jesus said, Love Me with your whole heart, with your whole soul, with your whole mind and strength, and your neighbor as yourself.”  He didn’t say too much about “do’s” and “don’ts”.  If one loves Christ totally, then love will show what pattern of life to follow.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

July 17, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Fr. George,

    Sorry to be commenting on this so late… I read it awhile ago but didn’t have time to write. Thank you for the reminder of how Jesus is there for us, and how it is easy to seek him out! So many think that they can make it all on their own, and many seem to be successful and having it ‘all together’ but inside… what is going on inside? Worry, stress, anxiety, jealousy, etc… never relaxing. I hope that I always have Jesus first in my life – but I too do in run phases, where my faith and prayer life is first and foremost, but, I have to admit, I also can push Jesus and prayer farther back on my priority list – and then I go to Sunday mass and it all comes back – very deeply feeling His presence, especially during the Eucharistic prayer and receiving communion. Then, at those times, I think, I should be here every day! It is such a peaceful time. Maybe I will try to get in one weekday mass this week. Life is so busy, but that should not stop me!

    I appreciate the photo of Martin Luther King, too (above). He was such a man of peace and strived to have others see it… growing up, I really didn’t know about him, except for what the adults in my life spoke of him, and it wasn’t favorable. Now, I understand that he was trying to change the world – a fight that continues even today (unbelievably). This new election cycle is equally unbelievable – with the hateful rhetoric and calls for violence – but, as disturbing as hearing it, even more disturbing is the reaction to it – it is definitely a scary world these days. I’m praying the rosary more and more for peace in the world and in individual souls… as Mary requested it.

    Love you, dear friend, you are never far from me – in thought, and prayer.

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | August 1, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

