God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Mass At The Sixth Station Of The Cross


Blessed Charles de Foucauld Image via Wikipedia

Blessed Charles de Foucauld
Image via Wikipedia

From my journal: Jerusalem, January 5, 2006, Saturday.

Not a warm day, but rather brisk, with the temperature in the lower 50s. I walk alone to the Sixth Station of the Cross where Veronica wiped the Face of Jesus as He made His way to His crucifixion.  In thanks, the suffering Christ left His Image on her towel.  The other five pilgrims in our group left early for a ride to the North, to Nazareth and the Sea of Galilee.

At the Sixth Station, the Little Sisters of Jesus, a group of nuns founded by Charles de Foucauld, a Frenchman, have a small shop with some religious articles for sale. It is a means of supporting their Community.  In years past, I always went there to give an offering to the Sisters with a request for prayers for a safe pilgrimage.  Until a few days ago, I never knew that they had a Chapel next to the store.

While in the shop at the time, I heard a door open and there before me, I saw a Chapel some six feet below the pathway outside. At that level, I was looking at the Jerusalem of the time of Jesus.  At this place, the Lord met Veronica and accepted her loving action.  On this Saturday, the Sisters are expecting me, since I had reserved a time for celebrating Mass.

After Mass, in my thanksgiving, I thought of the consolation Veronica gave to the bruised and bloody Face of Christ as He struggled up the roadway to Calvary. Before this, I never prayed to Veronica, although her name came up frequently during the Lenten Season each year.  In the days since my Mass at the Sixth Station, she has become a dear friend of mine.

I beg her often in prayer to help me offer consolation to our Christ in the 21st Century.  She has made me conscious of many different ways to do this.  In our striving for holiness, our lives can give much praise and love to Christ, offended by so much indifference and rejection in our present world.  Why aren’t our churches filled to overflowing on weekends?

Veronica had courage to show compassion to a condemned man. Stand up for Christ in the marketplace, at home, and in our local church.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

July 9, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. So true father George. Definite need of lots of prayer. Only the Lord and his Mercy especially in this year of Mercy can save this world find Weston especially in this year of Mercy

    Comment by Bud Weston | July 9, 2016 | Reply

  2. How beautiful. Thank you.

    Comment by Toody Parker | July 9, 2016 | Reply

  3. Your reflections bring Our Lord and His moments with Veronica at the VI Station into our hearts…and as you instruct us, we must bring Him to others each day! Thank you Fr. George, your faith & devotion inspires everyone! Happy Birthday to an incredible priest! We give thanks for the gift you are to us! Birthday Blessings, Marianne.

    Comment by mcs | July 10, 2016 | Reply

  4. Hi Fr. George,

    I know, I’ve been SO negligent in writing back to you. We were in Europe for three weeks and then we came home and we had a tragic thing happen. Our beloved yellow Labrador Retriever, who was only 10 1/2, became ill – he wouldn’t eat (this was a dog that devoured his food). Plus he kept collapsing. Turned out that he had lung cancer and also some nodules in his spleen. We made the very difficult decision to have him euthanized on 6/22, which is my birthday. We have been so sad and grieving his loss ever since. I used to (stupidly) think that it wouldn’t be so hard to lose one because we had two dogs, but that was SO wrong. He was so unique and different from our other dog – he was the LOUD presence in the house – very ready to play, to go out (he would bark and go crazy whenever we made a move to go out into our big backyard which he loved) and Tim would say, “Baxter, how can it be THAT exciting every time?” But that was who he was – he would rather die than let a Frisbee or ball fall to the ground before he got there. He had incredible strength and could jump nearly 6 feet high from a standing position (in his younger days) – we had the nose prints on the sliding glass door to prove it.

    Anyway, that is the reason for my not writing. Such joy and happiness on our trip – we had a really wonderful time discovering England, Scotland and London. Just beautiful there… and then such worry and then, sadness. We are slowly getting better, but I know that we will miss him forever. We are taking our other dog with us on lots of walks and just around town – we don’t want to leave her alone (or leave us alone is more like it!)

    I have this blessing/curse that I am a true animal lover. I even had (on hand, but never read until we had Baxter euthanized) a book written by a Friar Jack Wintz called “I Will See You in Heaven”. I purchased it and saved it for this time when we would lose one of our dogs. It is a lovely book about how there is evidence in the Bible about how we will share heaven with the creatures of this earth. I noticed this before, too, that in Mark’s Gospel, he writes ‘Go into the world and proclaim the gospel to every creature”. This plus the writings of St. Francis and others made that author give the good case that we will see the animals that brought us such joy again. Comforting words when one is hurting so much.

    In responding to your post above, I know that we are putting Jesus somewhere in our lives … some put him first, (like you do), some only on Sundays and some barely give him a thought. I try to say my rosary often, but I don’t even do that every day. But, I will now just say a brief prayer to Saint Veronica to please help me comfort the suffering sacred face of Jesus, in prayer and action.

    My dear friend, I will call you this week – I want to wish you a happy birthday!
    With love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | July 10, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

