God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Every Penny Counts


Years ago, a priest friend of mine, Fr. Edward P. Connors (RIP, October 25, 2000) would send his fellow priests a newsletter and sign these notes with his initials EPC and then add the words, “Every Penny Counts”. He inspired me to collect my pennies and save them for a useful cause.

One of those causes was a Catholic Parish School in Oak Lawn – St. Germaine, at the time run by Sister Suzanne, the principal. She had encouraged her students to bring their loose pennies in at the end of each week to help sponsor a school in Port Au Prince, Haiti.   During the school year the students raised over $1,000 for their adopted school. With that money the school was able to pay the salary of a teacher for a year and provide one meal a day for ten children!

Jesus says, whoever gives a cup of cold water to one of His little ones in His Name will surely have a reward. Our saving of pennies and spare change can grow into a definite way to help needy children. As we put our pennies aside at the end of each day, we will build up an attitude of mind of thinking and helping others.

Through the use of our pennies and spare change, others will receive that provide that cup of milk, that bowl of cereal to the hungry children in Jesus’ Name. What to do with our pennies? Cash them in and send that amount to a charity or school of your choice. The needs are endless. Just a little research and you will find a local pantry in your neighborhood, and a charity in a third world nation.

Remember the motto, Every Penny Counts. As we fall off to sleep at night, many children will gather around our bed to give thanks for our thoughtfulness and pray for our peace of heart.

Fr. George McKenna

June 25, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Dear Fr. George…as you share this beautiful penny story…you remind us…that a small gift of love adds up to a fortune in helping others! Even a penny makes a difference when everyone brings one to the collection! What an inspiration created by your priest friend…EPC…his good work continues because of your blog!
    Blessings & Love to you, Fr. George! Thank you, marianne

    Comment by mcs | June 27, 2016 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George,

    Thank you for always bringing such a wonderful and powerful message to us – this time, to help the poor. I think I am not alone in thinking, well, what can I do? So I do nothing! We do have a little boy in Africa that we sponsor. He will be 11 this year. I sometimes send him extra money (thru the organization World Vision) and then they will send me a list of all the things that the donation bought for him and his family. It is usually clothes for him, and food for the family – and it goes a LONG way! I will get a very short but wonderful letter from him – I am sure that he is just learning English – and a photo! It is wonderful to see him and how he has grown.

    Thank you for such a great story – I know the kids here will hold penny drives for Haiti as well. Such an impoverished country – it makes me wonder, how did I come to be in this great country of such wealth, while others are born in third world countries and can barely get by day-to-day? It must be for a greater good! I will try to pray more for those who have so little and help out more when I can. I know it will never be enough, but I can’t let that stop me!

    As usual, Fr. George, your stories inspire me to greater things and I always tell others about you, how we met, and your wonderful books and blog! I just shared that story last weekend after mass with a couple visiting from another part of the state. How blessed I was that the Holy Spirit led me to you, 8 years ago!

    Love you, my friend,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | July 10, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

