God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Father’s ABCs


 Always trust your children to God’s care

My father – Patrick J. McKenna Happy Fathers’ Day to all fathers, and those who selflessly take on that role.

My father – Patrick J. McKenna
Happy Fathers’ Day to all fathers, and those who selflessly take on that role.

 Bring them to church

 Challenge them to high goals

 Delight in their achievements

 Exalt the Lord in their presence

 Frown on evil

 Give them love

 Hear their problems

 Ignore not their childish fears

 Joyfully accept their apologies

 Keep their confidence

 Live a good example before them

 Make them your friends

 Never ignore their endless questions

 Open your heart to their love

 Pray for them by name

 Quicken your interest in their spirituality

 Remember their needs

 Show them the way to salvation

 Teach them to work

 Understand they are still young

 Verify your statements

 Wean them from bad company

eXpect them to obey

 Yearn for God’s best for them

 Zealously guide them in the truth of the Bible

 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

June 18, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Happy Father’s Day Fr. McKenna. God bless you and keep you in His loving care. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Pamela Gervais | June 18, 2016 | Reply

  2. You gave me each and every one of these Uncle George

    Comment by Anonymous | June 18, 2016 | Reply

  3. A beautiful “alphabet” for Father’s Day…Inspiration & Love for each day! To you,
    Fr. George, a Happy Father’s Day as well…you serve as shepherd-father-priest for us, His sheep, guiding us Home to the Father’s House!
    Love & Gratitude, marianne

    Comment by mcs | June 18, 2016 | Reply

  4. Thnk you so much! Tpd

    Comment by Tom Dubrick | June 18, 2016 | Reply

  5. A Blessed Father’s Day to you, Father.

    Comment by Bartholomew Timm | June 18, 2016 | Reply

  6. That is a marvelous thing that you wrote for Father’s Day, my dear Fr. George! How clever and imaginative! You are an amazing writer and this was done SO well. (I’m sorry that I am just catching up on all of your posts – I wrote why I was absent in the first July post). But this one, this is great! I know a lot of great ‘fathers’ who are so supportive and just totally there for their children, except in one area – they are not practicing any faith and therefore, not leading their children toward God. It makes me sad but I do not want to alienate myself by pushing too hard to have them at least join and attend a church! But, I will now, after reading this, pray more that they might see it as a need and start attending church with their children and show them the way.

    I think this broken world would be a lot better off if more people were attending church, synagogue, or mosques. Just show Almighty God some form of worship and thanksgiving – and live by the good book – whichever book they associate with… that certainly couldn’t hurt or make things worse.

    This recent week (I am writing this on July 10th) of the horrible shootings of black people in cars and then the horrible sniper attack on the Dallas police – SO MUCH shooting! I just can’t even stand to listen to the news any more. I may have written this before, but when we were just in Ireland, driving in the car, they had on a talk radio program, people who were troubled in Ireland because of this statistic: 12 teenagers were killed by other teenagers in the past 10 years! 10 YEARS, not 10 days, as would probably be the case in the U.S. It has become so commonplace here that we are no longer horrified when it happens. And, I remember from your book, Wisdom from the Pulpit, you wrote about ‘prayer plus action’… we can’t simply pray and hope that it will turn around! Prayer is not some sort of magic 8 ball or Ouija board – true, we have to pray, but we also have to do something! Reading that, I remember back then, that was really was an AHA moment for me! I never really thought about it in that way!

    See, Fr. George? You ALWAYS are teaching me something, even before we started becoming friends, when I first read your book – you were teaching me even back then! Thank you for the many years of guidance and instruction along the way. And thanks to our heavenly Father for bringing me close to you! Maybe I could do a little more (prayer plus action) in nudging those wonderful fathers that I know to consider joining a church. Maybe that little nudge would spark a change in them?

    Praying for you so often, my friend! I love you, Fr. George!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | July 10, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

