God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Source Of Joy In Living


Possibly the most famous person to keep a journal. Anne Frank in 1940, Amsterdam (the Netherlands). Unknown photographer; Collectie Anne Frank Stichting Amsterdam via Wikipedia

Possibly the most famous person to keep a journal.
Anne Frank in 1940, Amsterdam (the Netherlands). Unknown photographer; Collectie Anne Frank Stichting Amsterdam via Wikipedia

During my life, I have used my bookshelves to store my journals, long legal sized pads of yellow paper (14 x 8.5 inches), filled with my own handwriting. Many of these are now safely stored in my niece’s basement.

In these pages, I have written happenings and personal impressions of my life over the years, along with my accounts of my many travels to various countries. How interesting to open one of these pads and read what I wrote ten or fifteen years ago and connect with my feelings at the time.  In my travel journals I have taped in foreign currency, maps, railroad tickets, and postcards of the places I have visited.

A journal speaks of many things, people one meets during the day, ideas culled from readings or conversations, the vision one has in living. There is no limit to the subject matter for one’s “Book of Life”.  A fresh awareness of life and its beauty creeps into the thinking of anyone who perseveres in keeping a journal.

Many happenings may make their way into a journal:

A thought-provoking line from a book

A striking idea from a homily given at Mass

A few phrases of poetry too good to forget

A thought from a newspaper columnist

A phrase from Holy Scripture

 

Ideals written down can make a deep impression on the mind of the writer. Personal growth becomes more pronounced.  Later on, the journal keeper can turn back the clock of time, and read of past experiences of exultation, despair, and moments of hope and anger.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

June 5, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. The written word reaches across time to touch hearts in a moment. Thank you always Fr. George for sharing your words of faith, wisdom & love with us.
    Blessings & Love, marianne

    Comment by mcs | June 5, 2016 | Reply

  2. We always enjoy your posts. Wish we could go back in time and attend your masses at Midway Airport chapel! Helen & Corrine Ganiec

    Comment by Anonymous | June 5, 2016 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George! I’m so sorry to not having written for so long. We were in Europe for 3 weeks! We traveled throughout Scotland, Ireland and then ended the trip in London. What an effort it took for me to keep my journal up – I really had to work at it! What a gift it would be to someday read thru your travel journals. We came back to sad times – our wonderfully lovable dog may have a brain tumor. We are heartbroken. Many friends and family are praying for him. He is 10 1/2 but we wanted him with us longer than this – it never is enough time, is it? And so we were so happy on our trip and now so sad. Luckily his condition didn’t start for the pet sitter. That is a blessing. Praying for you, my dear friend. I know you have a birthday coming up next month. Mine is this month. We are both cancerians. Love you, stay well.

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | June 13, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

