God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Glorious Vision Of Life


The Resurrection by Carl Heinrich Bloch, 1881 via Wiki Commons

The Resurrection by Carl Heinrich Bloch, 1881
via Wiki Commons

I will tell a simple story, one that could change our way of living. The July 26, 1996 Chicago Tribune article entitled, “Count Your Blessings”, told of a young woman, recently recovered from a serious illness, quoting her, “When I recovered my health, I embraced life as never before. I smelled the flowers.  Every person, everything, was special, was wonderful.  But then, I forgot.”

The Tribune writer then went on to describe what had happened to this woman. The realities of living squelched the glorious vision that this now healthy woman had for a short time.  The kids tracked dirt on the kitchen floor.  The rent was due.  The car wouldn’t start.  The boss was bellowing.  The dog had fleas.  The laundry had to be done.  The list seemed endless.

I cut this article out for my own use and put it into my daily journal. At that time I was recovering from an illness.  Like the woman above, I was smelling the flowers and embracing life as never before.  Every person, everything was special, wonderful.

I told myself that I would not allow the realities of living take away this glorious vision of life. In those days to come, I planned to read and reread this treasured article.  These words often came to my lips . . . “I have tasted the sweetness of this higher way of life.  I will not let it go . . .”

Easier said than done. Now, twenty years later, my everyday ups and downs are threatening to bring me back to my former drab way of living.  With God’s help I will not allow this to happen.  Perhaps, without realizing it, our readers have fallen into this trap.  We are allowing the realities of life to cheat us out of a glorious vision of life.

Our way of life has become one of endurance, just putting in time at home, at work, carrying on a series of dull relationships with others. We are not smelling the flowers.  But starting today – this Glorious Easter Sunday – we can have an outlook in which we see life, each day of living, as a precious gift from God.  We can see, hear, and have mobility to get up each morning.  We can count our blessings!

In our gifts of mind and will, we have the power to learn things and choose our life styles. God has made our hearts capable of falling in love with Him and other human beings.  Today, we grow conscious of how realities of life can cripple this sparkling way of living.  Will we lose out on this soaring way of living?  Or, will we look at the miracle of today – Jesus’ rising from the dead, fulfilling the scriptures and giving us the hope of eternal life – and choose to live each day as a special gift from God?

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 26, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. YOU ARE A GIFT TO ALL OF US. EASTER BLESSINGS TO YOU FR McKENNA. 🌻

    Comment by Anonymous | March 26, 2016 | Reply

  2. YOU ARE A GIFT TO ALL OF US. EASTER BLESSINGS TO YOU FR McKENNA✝

    Comment by PARKER | March 26, 2016 | Reply

  3. Happy Easter, my dear friend!! Thank you for this beautiful reminder to fully embrace the life that we are given – the gift of life, not to be taken lightly! This comes to me at such a low time in my life. We have the unfortunate circumstance of having new neighbors that are very intrusive, entitled and encroaching on our lives. Now, a scuttle about a loose pet (not ours) has me feeling very low and stressed. I shouldn’t feel a sense of dread driving down my own street, but yet, I do. But, I have made a commitment to leave it up to God’s will. God put that woman in my path for a reason and I will just trust in the Lord that He knows the outcome of this situation and not fret about it.

    But, just like the woman in your story, it is hard to stick to that commitment, because, even as I just wrote that paragraph, I could feel the stress building up in me! I want to thank you, my dear Fr. George, for instilling in me such strong faith! I went to Holy Thursday services and cried when the priest was washing the feet, picturing our glorious Jesus doing that for his disciples. And, then yesterday, attending the Good Friday services – cried again at the Veneration of the Cross and then, during communion, when the priest said to me “The Body of Christ” – oh my, tears were streaming down my face. Knowing (or appreciating) again, all that Jesus did for us – for me. Thank you, my dear friend! Through our friendship and with God’s grace, I have come to fully realize the wonders of our Catholic faith in a way that I had never done so before!

    I love you, Fr. George! I hope that you have a beautiful Holy Saturday and a GLORIOUS Easter Sunday. I am saying the Divine Mercy novena and today (day 2) is for all priests and religious. Oh, how you were on my mind when saying those prayers!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 26, 2016 | Reply

  4. Happy Easter to all!

    Comment by Mike | March 26, 2016 | Reply

  5. Wishing you a happy Easter with the blessing of good health to you. Once again thank you for this wonderful reminder of embracing the good of life.

    Arlene Johnson

    Comment by Arlene A. Johnson | March 26, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

