God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Appreciate The Little Joys Of Life


The Little Joys of Life include the beauty of our Mother Earth God has provided us on a daily basis. This is a picture of the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland

The Little Joys of Life include the beauty of our Mother Earth God has provided us on a daily basis.
This is a picture of the Cliffs of Moher in Ireland

During her lifetime, Dr. Kubler-Ross, a woman physician, has written much about dying and death. She gave her readers enriching insights into living life by what she says about death.  One of her books tells of her interviews with 2,000 people close to death.

What did these people talk about as they faced death? According to Dr. Kubler-Ross, they didn’t refer to their material possessions, or to their occupations, or to any of their accomplishments in life.  This surprised her.

Almost, without exception, the dying men and women spoke about the simple joys of their past days. They recalled a family birthday party, a trip to the zoo with their children, a visit to the shopping mall at holiday time, a lunch with friends in the warm nook of a restaurant on a cold, blustery day.

These happenings, at the approach of death, took on a tender meaning for those about to leave earthly life. From her experience in these interviews with the dying, Dr. Kubler-Ross drew some conclusions for her readers.

See in the little happenings of the day a source of much joy, that cup of coffee in the morning with an interesting book, a walk in the cool of the evening, a sharing of life with a dear friend.

Be conscious of the possibilities of happiness in the common, ordinary actions of the day, a bus ride to the local museum with a cold drink and a sandwich for lunch, a summer supper in the back yard, or writing something personal in our daily journal.

Be aware that, at the time of death, these “little happenings” of life will come back to our thoughts before any of the “so called” big achievements of life. Treasure now the ordinary things of our family life and daily living.

In a personal way, I am asking myself what will I be thinking of when I lay at death’s door. At my age, closing in on 97, that time is close.  First of all, I am going to take more joy from the little happenings of life than I have in the past.  On my death bed, I will remember mostly, hearing confessions of trusting people, the satisfaction of a homily or one of my Blogs touching someone’s heart, and a prayer being heard for a sick person.  No great achievements, really, just a lifetime of little happenings.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 5, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. What a blessing you have been to all of us who were fortunate to read your books and other writings. I love reading all of them, pasting them on to all my family & friends. I wish you 97 more years!! Thank you so much for your words of wisdom, God bless you always

    Comment by K | March 6, 2016 | Reply

  2. Amen. Father. It is the little things we notice in the beauties of nature and small blessings that others give us that really matter because both come from God’s love. And we all are looking for love in whatever way God chooses to send it to us. We just have to keep our eyes open to experience them.

    Comment by JoAnn V. | March 7, 2016 | Reply

  3. Family and friends are truly a gift from God. And one of the gifts my mother and father left me is a connection to her friends.
    All the wonderful people they knew, like you.
    Have a wonderful day.

    Comment by Paul Weston | March 7, 2016 | Reply

  4. Oh dear friend, I am sad thinking of the day that you will be leaving us, but I am also so happy thinking of all the lives that you have touched, including my life. I was so lucky to have met you in 2008 at Midway Airport chapel. You have blessed all that you have met, with your warm smile, your caring and compassion. You always delight in the happiness of others and share in their sorrows.

    I think of you as my spiritual advisor, and am so thankful to you for bringing back to the Lord. I owe you so much, dear friend. I pray that when it comes time, your passing is gentle and easy as you leave us and enter into Paradise. I love you, Fr. George. I know that when I am on my deathbed, I will be thinking of you and the wonderful way in which you have enriched MY life. (and the lives of others, especially those that I have introduced to you via this blog or your book).

    Praying for you daily, dear friend! I love you!
    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 7, 2016 | Reply

  5. I hope you can appreciate all the blessings you have bestowed upon others, your incredible memory remembering everyone’s name, your 3 min sermons, heartfelt advice and fantastic blog, the world is a better place because of you, no better soldier of Christ. Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | March 7, 2016 | Reply

  6. Your writings are so meaningful, so beautiful. With such an impact. Thank you.

    Kathryn Mikel

    Comment by Anonymous | March 21, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

