God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

An Affirming Person


The Sermon of the Beatitudes James Tissot, Via Wikimedia Commons

The Sermon of the Beatitudes
James Tissot, Via Wikimedia Commons

One day, many years ago, I was swinging my golf club in my garage which held about twenty cars. Another person, parking her car, called out cheerfully, “That looks like a good swing!”  It was said in a joking way, but still the message was encouraging, giving me hope for the future.

Someone may say of the exchange above, “Such a small thing and you call that an affirmation?” Yes, a small thing, but of much importance to the one receiving the message.  Everyone needs to hear frequently, “Yes, you are beautiful.  You are good and worthy of much esteem.”

A young juvenile delinquent wrote to his parents, as he left home for good: “Yes, you gave me Christmas gifts and birthday presents, but you never had time to sit down and listen to me when I wanted to tell you something. You gave me the feeling that what I had to say really didn’t mean much or carry any weight of importance.”

Listening can be a way of affirming others, of healing their inner spirits. People cry out to be affirmed, to be told their worthiness and fitness to be loved and treasured.  Recall in our own lives how much help we received from someone, a teacher, a classmate, a family member who in some way, by word or action gave us a feeling of importance.

Jesus does this kind of thing all through the Gospels. We should wish to imitate Him in this way of living.  Even a smile can be an affirmation.  “Yes, I am noticing you and I like what you are doing!”

Jesus was a healer without equal. In a tender, gentle way, He dealt with all whom He met.  He never put any person down as unworthy of His attention.  All went away from Him feeling better.  After someone meets us, do they walk away feeling better?

Fr. George Mc Kenna

January 30, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. How true is this message of yours today. Thank you Fr. McKenna and have a blest day. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Pamela Gervais | January 30, 2016 | Reply

  2. Thank you so much for your talents, and inspiration on a lovely day. Tpd

    Comment by Tom Dubrick | January 30, 2016 | Reply

  3. I feel better after reading this I will do better GOD bless you

    Comment by Parker | January 30, 2016 | Reply

  4. I’ll try to do this to people that particularly upsets me.
    Knowing that I am not perfect either.
    Thank you for this lesson and all the others.
    Paul Weston

    Comment by Paul Weston | January 31, 2016 | Reply

  5. Hi Fr. George!

    That is the one thing that I remember in any visit I have had with you, or phone call – you always had something nice to say regarding the things that I shared with you. You gave positive, affirming statements to any accomplishment or good thing that I have shared with you. I try to be more like that but it isn’t easy! And I also remember, at my mother’s funeral, how everyone who spoke to me had such wonderful things to say about her – her easy smile, her fun loving ways, and the love she felt for friends and family. I remember telling Tim, “I need to be more like my mom!”

    We are all on a journey and we can become so easily derailed, but God is always there to forgive and to lend a helping hand! He sent me YOU, one of the best gifts of my life! I always feel better after visiting you, speaking with you, or reading your blog! I DO read it when it comes out, but don’t always have time to comment there and then. I promise I will do better with that. I love you, dear friend!

    God Bless YOU!
    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 7, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

