God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

What Am I Doing With This Gift Of Life That God Has Given Me?


Adoration of the Magi  by Bartolomé Esteban Murillo,  17th century Via Wikipedia

Adoration of the Magi
by Bartolomé Esteban Murillo,
17th century Via Wikipedia

I will only live once; then all will be over. Given to me is the chance to do with my life what I wish to do with it.  I am the Captain of my life and its activities.  No one can take from me the opportunity of directing my life as I wish.

How shameful if I allow this life to pass through my hands as if I had 5 or 10 lives to lead . . . a cat may have 9 lives, but this is the one and only one that comes. You wonder why we are so careless about our thinking on this life we have only one of.  We settle for such little results with this life we have.  In daily living, we use up about 30% of the real possibilities we have for happiness.

How often do we hear of someone retiring from the work he so much loved? Suddenly he discovered that the job had taken him over and was directing his life.  His work had got to him in terms of human payments of feeling terrible, being physically and emotionally drained.  He came to the realization that if he continued he would collapse.  Alas, no, this cannot go on forever.  He had to stop and take cognizance of what was happening.  Life was not meant to be lived this way.  There is a better way.

What are we doing with our lives? We are hurrying along the road of life missing the real joy of living.  How much rest do we have in our souls these years?  Has the game of life become so intense that we refuse to stop and smell the roses?

When was the last time you looked into the eyes of your loved ones to see what was there?  Are the little joys of life losing their flavor . . . music, poetry, a lazy conversation over the dinner table, conversing with children?  Have we let the pressures of life make us bundles of nerves, grouchy, and cranky?  Do we refuse to laugh?

Let 2016 be a time to call a halt to your life. Pull aside and see what is happening.  Talk to others, people you trust, about what you are doing.  This is a great help.  Compare notes, tell them how you feel.  Don’t expect them to tell you what to do, but rather, listen to yourself talk about your hopes and dreams for the future.  Talk to someone who has ideals and values like your own.  I’ve always found talking with my friends has given me a clearer focus.

How much are you succeeding in spreading love, peace and goodness in the world around you? How open are you to change?  Mary received an announcement for the Angel Gabriel and was asked to change her way of life on the spot.  She did not refuse.  Her openness to change allowed her to say Yes!  And she brought into this life, Love, Peace and Goodness.  How are you planning to say Yes in 2016?

Fr. George Mc Kenna

January 2, 2016 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Thanks, Father, a good message to start the New Year. I pray we see many more from you this year.

    Comment by Bartholomew Timm | January 2, 2016 | Reply

  2. Great

    Comment by Mike | January 2, 2016 | Reply

  3. A beautiful message.

    Bud Weston

    Comment by Anonymous | January 2, 2016 | Reply

  4. Love your compact,lnspirational homilies, Father McKenna

    Comment by Phil B | January 2, 2016 | Reply

  5. Thanks for helping me to choose a right way to go….

    Comment by Alexey | January 2, 2016 | Reply

  6. Hi Fr. George and Happy New Year! What a beautiful way to start the new year! Yes, I can relate to all of this – sometimes we do take for granted, this life of ours. And it can be gone in such an instant. I hope that you had a beautiful Holy Season, my dear friend! I love you and am so overjoyed to call you my friend! I’ve told so many people about you and even gave your book to a man I know who is searching…. I hope he enjoys it and learns from it. I will call you soon, my dear friend! Praying for you often.

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | January 7, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

