God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Happiness, A Sharing In The Gifts Of Others


Autumn Leaves by John Everett Millais Via Wikipedia

Autumn Leaves by John Everett Millais
Via Wikipedia

One early morning, years ago, I joined two strong young men, strangers to me, on the first tee for a round of golf. Not only did I enjoy their pleasant company, but one of them, Don by name, could hit the golf ball tremendous distances, making it disappear into the far beyond.  My warm enthusiasm for his ability encouraged him to think of his accomplishments.

On my way home, I asked myself why this game of golf with strangers had been such an enjoyable experience. Quickly the answer came; because, for a change, I allowed myself to share in the talents and gifts of another human being, instead of being sad at my own inabilities.

Even if a person doesn’t have the gifts of mind, heart and physical strength that others have, no one can stop him from admiring them and making them a part of his life. Call this a vicarious happiness.  A parent sees his infant taking its first steps on its own and lets out a cry of joy, heard throughout the neighborhood.  In a real way, the parent is participating in the most momentous happening of the child’s infancy.

I once lived with a priest whose hobby was collecting miniature fire engines used throughout the world. He opened my eyes to a new area of knowledge.  As friends tell of their vacation travels, the listeners could learn much about the world and its customs.  In a way, they are making the trip, although much more cheaply!

By looking outside himself, a person can increase his scope for happiness. If he fills his heart with his own self-importance and own limited personal skills, his spirit could stop growing.  Exult in the flying fingers of a concert pianist, the dexterity of a high wire artist at the circus.  Revel in admiration before the works of art and sculpture.  Delight in the perfect musical pitch of the professional singer.  In every way, an outgoing person can enthusiastically participate in these splendid gifts and make them his own.

In these autumn days, all of Nature cries out to us to share in its magnificent beauty. What Grand Designer made the blue prints for the spindle legs of a robin, such delicate landing gear for a heavy body?  In the fallen leaves, one finds a canvas-like texture along with a honeycomb of tiny canals to bring nourishment to the extremities.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

November 7, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Fr. McKenna, thank you–I do enjoy the gifts of others and you helped me to look for more of them. God bless you. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Pamela Gervais | November 7, 2015 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George!

    How nice to ‘hear’ from you again today. Thank you for this beautiful story. That is really something difficult to do – to look beyond yourself and to look at someone’s talents with joy and NOT with jealousy. I have learned from you that it is easy to say something nice and positive when someone has something good happen. You are always so complimentary when you hear of someone’s good fortune or talents. You are a wonderful person, Fr. George and it is easy to love you! What a wonderful gift God has given us by this blog and your sage words of advice and wisdom! I miss you and am happy that we have this blog to read your thoughts and advice.

    Tim and I celebrated our 16th anniversary yesterday! I can remember our wedding day as if it was yesterday. We looked at some of the old pictures and reminisced about the day. We went to a no-frills diner for dinner and even had a buy one, get one free coupon! Proof positive that you don’t need FANCY to make it a happy anniversary.

    I’m now riding my horse 3 days a week – this just started this past week and I am feeling it! But it is very fun to get out there two days on my own and one day with my instructor. Tim came with me yesterday and watched me ride. I’m leasing a horse now (Parletta) she’s a beautiful paint horse and she’s very athletic. Tim is still taking lessons too but he will now do fewer lessons to offset the cost of my leasing. He likes it but not as much as I do.

    Hard to believe it is only a few weeks until Thanksgiving! Where does the year go? I started writing out Christmas cards to an organization that sends cards to people who are severely ill – so, people that I do not know. My own mom was a recipient of those cards and so I am happy to contribute. The person who coordinates it has now disclosed that she herself has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. Life is so ironic.

    Well, my dear friend, I think of you daily and pray for you often. I still owe you a long letter or a phone call – time gets away from me so much! Today we had a friend of Tim’s over for dinner and they are watching college football – its nice for Tim to have a ‘guy’ day once in awhile. 🙂

    Love you, my dear friend! Thank you for the wonderful words and encouragement – they mean the world to me!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | November 7, 2015 | Reply

  3. Once again you inspire, not only by what you have written, but THAT you have written. Many people at this stage would be content to do little or nothing, and yet you continue to write and inspire. Thank you.

    Comment by barttimm | November 7, 2015 | Reply

  4. Thank you. Tpd

    Comment by Tom Dubrick | November 8, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

