God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Prayer Of Lasting Value


St. John Paul II Loved God all his life, and followed His Will

St. John Paul II
Loved God all his life, and followed His Will

Shortly after Ordination to the Priesthood in May, 1944, Cardinal Stritch assigned me to the City of Youth, St. Mary’s Training School, now known as Maryville Academy, a home for dependent children in Des Plaines, Illinois. 850 boys and girls, normal and healthy in every way, from nursery age through high school, called St. Mary’s their year round home. This would be my home for five years.

In the center of the campus school stood the Chapel, the heart of the school, where during Lent, the students came each week for the Stations of the Cross. One line in these devotions reappeared in each of the Stations: “Lord, grant that I may always love You. Then do with me what Thou will.”

Though the past 70 years, I find that this prayer has stayed with me. At unexpected moments, especially in times of failures, disappointments, and pain, I hear myself saying. . . “Lord, grant that I may always love You. Then do with me what Thou will.” This prayer gives balance to my life, keeping me from tipping over into despair.

The words, spoken in faith, say: “I need only one thing in life, Your Love, Lord. Not success, not the applause of the crowd or material advancement. This is another way of saying: “I submit to all the difficult happenings of life, Lord, but do not take Your Love away from me.”

During one of my many stays in Jerusalem, I sat across the dining table from men and women from 18 different nations. Among them there were 40 Polish Priests. From all parts of the world, these pilgrims, at much personal sacrifice, had come to visit the Holy City and pray in the places sacred to the memory of Jesus of Nazareth. All these people, friendly and open to conversation with other pilgrims, expressed enthusiasm about the place of Christ in their lives. Jesus of Nazareth held center stage in their thoughts.

When life deals a hard blow, a follower of the Lord can keep calm and tranquil by whispering these words: “Lord, grant that I may always love You. Then do with me what Thou will.”

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 19, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Fr. George,

    It is so good to read your messages of hope and love! You have a wonderful way with words and this post was an exceptional one. First of all, I can’t imagine how much work that must have been with all those children at St. Mary’s! It must have felt overwhelming at times. And, the saying at each of the stations of the cross, that is a beautiful sentiment; I will copy it and try to read it every day. In this crazy world, that is really all we need, isn’t it? To love the Lord and accept what he has in store for us.

    I taught another course on palliative care – and am taking an online course to achieve a certificate in palliative care nursing. Hearing (from my online classmates) what some patients have to endure and suffer through, wow, it is just amazing how much the body can suffer. Of course, with palliative care, that is the goal, to ease suffering. All persons who have serious illness should seek palliative care at the time of diagnosis (this is not hospice, a common mistake to confuse the two) – you can have full curative treatment along with palliative care. It is just an extra layer of support from a very good team, usually involving nursing, medicine, social work and spiritual care. They did a study where some patients with terminal lung cancer were also assigned palliative care along with chemo/radiation (the other group just had chemo/radiation) and the group that had the addition of palliative care lived an average of 3 months longer, and with less pain and suffering, and greater peace of mind! Amazing!

    Well, my friend, I think of you and pray for you so often! Stay well, and I’ll look forward to reading your next post! Love you, Fr. George!

    Love ,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | September 21, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

