God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Did I Fill The World With Love?


St. Vincent de Paul, was the Mother Teresa of his time (1576 – 1660). Everyone in need received help, the orphan, the widow, the sick, the poor. Picture via Wikipedia

St. Vincent de Paul, was the Mother Teresa of his time (1576 – 1660). Everyone in need received help, the orphan, the widow, the sick, the poor. Picture via Wikipedia

Over the years, I found the movie, “Goodbye Mr. Chips”, a continual source of inspiration. During a summer vacation in Greece, Mr. Chips, a schoolmaster in an English Public School, meets and marries a former singer on the London stage, a vivacious and charming person.

On the opening day of school, with the entire student body gathered in the Assembly Hall, and the Faculty standing on the stage, among them, Mr. and Mrs. Chips, the organ strikes up the school song. Among the words were these:

“. . . and the blessing that I shall ask is that God will grant me to be brave and strong and true, and to fill the world with love, my whole life through. . . and to fill the world with love.”

The boys sang the song in a half-hearted way, until they heard the voice of Mrs. Chips coming through with beauty and feeling. Suddenly, they put new life and fire into their own singing, especially at the conclusion, “. . . Did I fill the world with love? Did I fill the world with love?”

The incident brought out to me a vision I could have in living life: to fill the world with love. At times, while walking along the streets, I found myself singing the school song, with emphasis on the words, “. . . Did I fill the world with love?”

I became more conscious of the many opportunities to be a loving person in terms of kind words, generous, forgiving thoughts and helpful actions. As the boys did in the movie, I picked up the song with fresh gusto. The sparkling voice of the delightful Mrs. Chips reached my heart, telling me what an adventure this could be. . . to fill the world with love.

How quickly a sad heart would rejoice, how swiftly a home would light up with joy, how happily a community would change overnight, if the air resounded with that marvelous song, “. . . Did I fill the world with love?”

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 5, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Great. Message, with thanks.

    Comment by Tom Dubrick | September 5, 2015 | Reply

  2. Thanks Fr McKenna!

    Always enjoy your perspective and insight!

    Charlie Smith

    Sent from Outlook

    Comment by Charles D. Smith | September 6, 2015 | Reply

  3. Thank you for this beautiful reminder of how we can all make this world a better place for all. God bless you!

    Comment by K | September 7, 2015 | Reply

  4. Hi Fr. George (as usual, catching up on my emails!). This post is wonderful! I have never seen the movie or read the book. Now I will have to! I think of this as well, that if all the world’s people did just what Jesus commanded – ‘Love one another’ – think of how beautiful this planet would be! No crime, no racism, no hatred – everyone being equal – such a different place than now. Especially with the Syrian migrant situation now so much in the news – and Pope Francis’ call to have every parish in Europe take in one family – lightening the burden for one country alone. So simple! Thank you for the reminder – I will try to show more love to all that I encounter! Love you, dear friend! Thank you for enriching my life!

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | September 14, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

