God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Prayer Beads


La Visione di San Domenico (The Vision of Saint Dominic), Bernardo Cavallino, via Wikipedia. In 1208, St. Dominic knelt in front of a state of Mary, asking her to save the Church. Mary appeared to Dominic with a Rosary, Instructed him to pray the Rosary and True Faith would win out.

La Visione di San Domenico (The Vision of Saint Dominic), Bernardo Cavallino, via Wikipedia.
In 1208, St. Dominic knelt in front of a state of Mary, asking her to save the Church.
Mary appeared to Dominic with a Rosary, Instructed him to pray the Rosary
and True Faith would win out.

I often propose this idea to believers in the power of prayer. Yes, use the beads to say the Rosary in honor of Mary, while mentioning the Mysteries of our faith. But understand that the beads can be used profitably in other ways to unite ourselves to God.

In our time of prayer, as we walk along the street, or ride the bus, or sit in the quiet of the evening, we can take the beads and put a little spontaneous prayer on each of them. The feel of the beads is reassuring, reminding us, through the sense of touch, that we are lifting our minds and hearts to God.

The prayer said on a bead may only take four or five words, such as: “Jesus, I love You.” Then we move on to the next bead, “Jesus, I thank You for the gift of life.” Always, the words come from our hearts, not from any form prayer of a book.

Eventually, we reach the end of the fifty beads with our own creative ideas of prayer linked with each one of them. We enjoy the experience because every little aspiration came fresh from our own inner spirit, a warm expression of our own personal reaching for God.

Passing from bead to bead with one’s fingers has a definite psychological advantage for the one praying. I say to myself, “Yes, I will reach an end shortly. There is a goal in sight. I will know when to stop.”

I personally find this use of the Rosary beads helpful in making up my own words of communication to God. Many others tell of the same experience of delight and encouragement when they use the beads to pray in this manner.

Please understand what I am saying: Above all things use the beads for your Rosary prayer, but after the Rosary, try, during some time of the day, to put into practice the method mentioned above. You might enjoy it!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

August 12, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Father, you continue to inspire. You probably have no idea how important you are in my life; but you are. God Bless you.

    Comment by barttimm | August 12, 2015 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George! I love reading your posts and hearing from you! Hope that you are feeling good and enjoying the dog days of summer. Hot here, I’m ready for rain and a change of seasons. Too hot of a summer for me! I have re-read a very good book, called Looking for Mary – and it has a lot of historical things about Marian apparitions. I have a strong interest in the Rosary and pray it often – try to pray it every day. I do like your idea to use the beads as a way to talk to Jesus. You always have such great ideas! I pray for you often and thank God for you – to be in my life and to be able to share your thoughts with us via this blog! You are a blessing. Love you, my dear friend!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  3. Thank u for your weekly writing. I look forward to them every week. God bless you always

    Comment by K. Fitzgerald | August 13, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

