God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Joy Of Music


Diane Bish – The Joy of Music

Diane Bish – The Joy of Music

“Welcome to the Joy of Music”, and with these words, Ms. Diane Bish begins her TV program of organ selections. Ms. Bish, the best known woman organist in the USA, speaks of the evening’s program and then seats herself at the console of one of the great pipe organs in the world.

Only an organ virtuoso like Ms. Bish can bring out the full potential of such a highly sophisticated musical instrument. With her fingers plying the banks of keys, her feet touching the foot pedals, and now and then, her hands pulling out different “stops” to bring in the sound of various musical instruments, she creates magnificent music for her listeners.

I have always pictured the Holy Spirit as a young organist exercising divine skills on the awesome instrument of my soul. Scripture says, “I am wonderfully made!” If invited to play, the Spirit will bring out the full potential of my inner being.

Our lives give off music. The “stops”, or knobs, next to the keyboards of a high quality organ, correspond to all the qualities that enrich life, such as joy, peace, love, patience, trust, faith and a hundred other gifts that would enable our lives to give inspiring music to the world.

During troubling times, we should beg the Spirit to be the organist on the instrument of our soul. If we sense monotony, boredom in our lives, this means we are allowing poorly trained organists to play on our precious “wonderfully made” inner spirit. “Come Holy Spirit!”

 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

July 18, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Fr. George! Sorry that I am just getting to last week’s post! Busy week for me as Tim was gone to Canada fishing. They limited on King (Chinook) salmon and also caught some nice Coho salmon and one small halibut. We vacuum packed 52 salmon meals (for 2) and 4 halibut meals. Yum! I do not like when he is gone but I kept very busy here at the house, organizing, cleaning, etc… especially his office which is a home office and hard to get to when he is home working. How are you doing? I hope all is well there with you.

    I love the above post! Again, your imagery of the Holy Spirit as the instrument of our soul – lovely! I have a wonderful Holy Spirit story for you. One day, I was scheduled to shadow our Palliative Care social worker (Liz) and on that very day, she had an appointment with her oncologist. She had had colon cancer and this was an appointment after a CT scan/checkup. Well, she came back from that appointment and shared with me that she was told that she now had terminal colon cancer. They would watch it and when it started to grow she would be placed on chemo until the end of her life. He estimated she would have 2 or 3 years left. We had SUCH a deep connection that day and I told her how we met and about you and your book, which I brought her the very next day. (she would read one story a day and enjoyed your book immensely!)

    Well, fast forward to this past week and she had another appointment and STILL no change in the cancer. She was told she was terminal in February of 2013 and has yet to go on chemo! She is SO thankful to God for his bounty. Oh, and get this! She is not a Catholic but she likes to come out to my church – but hadn’t done so for a long time, so I arranged that she come last Sunday (the day that Tim left for Canada) and she came out on the ferry and attended my church and after church, a small group was leading a novena to St. Peregrine, the patron saint of cancer patients! I asked her if she wanted to stay for that and she very much wanted to! We said the novena as a group and that included the rosary. Of ALL the days to come back to church with me! Again, I told her that it was the Holy Spirit working in us – and she agreed!

    Praying for you, my dear friend! My heart is full of love for you and all you have done for me, Fr. George!!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | July 26, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

