God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

I Am A Sculptor


Christ and the Rich Young Ruler"  by Heinrich Hofmann, 1889 via Wikipedia

Christ and the Rich Young Ruler”
by Heinrich Hofmann, 1889
via Wikipedia

Years ago, I drove to Kenosha, Wisconsin, with a friend to visit an artist, a sculptor in wood.  My friend had commissioned the young artist to sculpture a life sized figure in wood of the Risen Christ.  At our arrival at his studio, in a loft, the artisan was working with mallet and chisel on a large block of wood, in the first stages of making an image of the Risen Christ.

Chips of wood had gathered at the feet of the young man, with his smock covered with dust and shavings.  He was trying to bring to life a design he had drawn on his sketch board.  Frequently, he would stop and look closely at the drawing to make sure he was proceeding correctly.

Shortly after, during Eastertime, 1992, I saw his finished work hanging on the sanctuary wall of my friend’s Church, a source of admiration and inspiration to all the worshippers.

This first time visit to the studio of a professional artist impressed me.  The thought came, “I, too am a sculptor.  In the studio of my heart, I am fashioning an image of Jesus of Nazareth, not with mallet and chisel, but, rather, with my daily life actions.”  For my design, I keep before my mind the Jesus of the Gospel stories to help me know what I am trying to form within myself.

Each time, I live up to the values of Jesus by being honest, truthful, pure in mind and heart, loving and forgiving, I am forming the face and figure of Christ in a clearer way within myself.

The world calls a follower of Christ a “Jesus person.”  A “Jesus person” tries to live out the ideals of Christ in all issues of life.  Questions come often to such a person, “What would Jesus do in this situation?”  “How would He deal with this sickness?”

As a “Jesus person” lives out the answers to the above questions, the image of the Lord takes on a glow, a brightness, a clarity of features.  What a glorious calling we have: to follow Christ!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 23, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Beautiful Fr. McKenna! and not only are you a sculptor you have shown the way to carve to so many, the features of Christ are alive within you.

    Comment by Anonymous | May 23, 2015 | Reply

  2. How beautiful a caption we are all a community of hands.Thankyou for your prayers tomorrow father at five PM have a blessed evening I will keep you posted. Linda

    Comment by Linda Driggers | May 26, 2015 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George! Again, smiling as I read your wonderful blog posts. The imagery is so rich and my mind immediately pictures your stories in my mind, in great detail, thanks to your wonderful words! You are such a master with words. You sculpt your words like the wood-worker sculpts his wood. Adding the right words here and there to come up with such a fine finished product that we are all able to enjoy, hold in our memories and live by. You are a master of your craft, my dear friend!

    Our local church has an enormous wood risen Christ hanging above the altar. Now when I go to that church, I will always think of your wonderful post and imagery.

    Love you, dear Fr. George! Praying for you often, and holding you in my heart, dear friend.

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | June 6, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

