God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Christ, The Master Teacher


RobinOne day last month, I was looking out my window.  To keep me company, my first springtime robin came to lift up my heart.  How merrily he danced about, picking up morsels from the grass outside my apartment.

In an unrealistic way, I thought to myself, this little bird knows more about Joy, Peace, and Love than I do.  It has no refrigerator back in its nesting place filled with bird seed and goodies.  Each day, it depends on its Loving Father for food to live.  The robin comes to bring joy to my day and remind me about Our Loving Father.

The disciples of the Risen Christ, after being with Him for three long years, did not understand His message of Joy, Peace and Love.  All of us, after having known the Lord for many years, have not caught on to the meaning of these precious Gifts.  We can all say that we are at the kindergarten level.

Why are we so glum, without smiles and merriment?  Fear controls our hearts so often.  We do many unloving things every day.  In my 20 years of schooling, I had two master teachers.  What power teachers have!  These two priests not only gave me food for my mind, but also, high ideals for my soul!  They continue to influence me to this day.

Be not dismayed!  We can graduate from the kindergarten level.  During these 40 days of Eastertime, we can walk with the Master Teacher, the Risen Christ, to observe His Way of living.  Hear His greetings to His friends, “Peace be with you.”  Listen to His words of encouragement and forgiveness to those who let Him down.  The gentle Voice of the Master should appeal to our hearts.

Every Easter weekend, the Gospel will tell of one of His visits after the Resurrection.  Listen with Faith.  Drink in the meaning of His Way of Love.  Why can’t I be like that, we can say.  Also, we can take the New testament and read the Post Resurrection stories in each of the four Gospels.  In 40 days, we could raise ourselves from kindergarten level to a degree of Summa Cum Laude (with the highest Praise) from the University of Christ.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 16, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Fr. George! That is a great post! You have such a way with pointing out exactly what we need! It IS hard to just trust, to let go and let God, as the saying goes. I’m enjoying reading the small book, Jesus Calling, and that is often the message, to trust in Jesus. I think that sometimes it is hard to do because you hear about terrible tragedies and heartache in the world and then it makes you wonder where the Lord was for that poor individual. The free-thinking that humans have can be a blessing and a curse, I suppose.

    It is so nice to ‘hear’ from you – and I can picture you looking out your nice big window to the pretty green grass below. It warms my heart to picture you there in your place where we visited and enjoyed each others’ company. I miss you but it helps to read your blog. I was putting away some things the other day and came across the photo of you and me together – a treasure, to be sure!

    Praying for you daily, Fr. George. (Tim just asked me what I am doing, as I am typing this and smiling – you put a smile on my face, dear friend!)

    Love you!
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | May 17, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

