God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

God Can Work Miracles In Us


The Transfiguration Lodovico Carracci 1594

The Transfiguration
Lodovico Carracci 1594

Some years ago, I was walking into the little Church in Bethany, situated just a few miles outside the Old City of Jerusalem.  In the time of Jesus, Martha, Mary and their brother Lazarus, lived in Bethany.  As I did so, a local man, of the Arab Community, placed a small seed, about the size of a water melon seed, in my hand.  He said, “This is a mustard seed.  Over there is a mustard tree which grows from this.”  The tree stood over seven feet high with heavy branches filling it from top to bottom.  What an amazing growth!

Jesus said one day, “The mustard tree is like the Kingdom of God.  It is the smallest of all trees, but it can grow into the biggest of trees.”  These words can give us high hopes for what can take place in our spirits where the Kingdom of God exists.

Perhaps, our gift of courage consists of a splinter of wood.  With prayer to the Lord, that sliver can grow into something the size of a redwood tree, some 300 feet high.  We lose all fear of life and instead relish challenges that come our way.  Life becomes a glorious adventure.  We begin to take risks to bring new attitudes of love into our lives.

The spirit of joy in our hearts might be compared to a little trickle of water coming down through the rocks, barely discernible.  By expressing our hope in the Lord’s Greatness, that flow of water could turn into a raging torrent of living joy, washing out of our hearts any anxiety.  We shout out our happiness!

Our spirit of prayer may look like a tiny flame, about to go out within the Kingdom of God in us.  With our unceasing belief in the teaching of Jesus about the mustard seed, the Lord can turn that spark of flame into a roaring fire.  We fall in love with live as never before.

Believe in the tremendous possibilities for growth that can take place within us in the Kingdom of God when we take the Lord at His Word.  Begin today in this noble pilgrimage of a new kind of life.  No need for a dull plodding along in life, each day more deadening that the one before.  With Christ, all things are possible.

Fr. George McKenna

April 25, 2015 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I wait every Saturday morning for your God is Good message. Thank you so much for giving us a deep insight to our Lord.
    God bless you !!

    Comment by K | April 25, 2015 | Reply

  2. Dear Fr. George…Your words lead us on a pilgrimage of deep faith & great love with Him each day of our life’s journey! Thank you forever for bringing Him so close to us…your priesthood leads us to the Father’s Home…we, the sheep, are eternally grateful! Blessings, Love & Gratitude, marianne

    Comment by mcs | April 25, 2015 | Reply

  3. HI Fr. George! Sorry to be delayed in replying to your posts – been pretty busy since returning home from Chicago. This post is a great reminder of how we can grow in our faith. In fact, I was just thinking about this yesterday, during the Saturday PM Mass that I attended… how, for (literally) years, I just mechanically attended mass and just went thru the motions… but since meeting you and returning to my faith, (and reading your books, bulletins, and this blog) how deeply I now participate in the Mass and how I feel SO spiritual… all thanks to you (and my mom).

    I think, too, how I wish I could tell especially the young people, to not make the same mistakes that I did – and to develop this rich, meaningful relationship with Christ. I know that it would not be likely – just as I would have scoffed at this ‘advice’ to my younger self. I can only pray that those that have turned away from the Lord will find their way back. Luckily, I have had the opportunity to return to my faith and have grown so much in the last 6 years since meeting you!

    I love you, Fr. George and I’m praying for you daily!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Kolember Westvang | May 3, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

