God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Keep The Christ Child Alive


St. Joseph and the Christ Child, Guido Reni Via Wikimedia

St. Joseph and the Christ Child, Guido Reni
Via Wikimedia

The coming of Christ this Christmas is a true Coming.  The Holy Child comes as our Messiah, to save us from our weaknesses.  In our confusion and darkness of spirit, out of Love for us, He brings Light, Love and Hope.  This Child from Heaven appears at the darkest time of the year, hoping for our open arms and a loving welcome.

This Christmas, 2014, is different from all past Christmases because our needs are different than any past year.  In this, my 96th Christmas, I am more enthusiastic than ever about the changes for good I can make in my life.

Perhaps, the darkness and coldness have entered the back doors of our homes and hearts as never before.  Family members are taking each other for granted.  We seldom hear laughter or should of joy and song in our hearts and homes.  Unemployment may be brining fear of bills to be paid.  Physical sickness has struck someone in the family.

An empty place at the dining table tells of a loved one gone in death.  Our spirits have reached their lowest levels ever.  Christmas can be the most depressing time of the year.  The Child of Bethlehem comes to the door of our homes at Christmas to bring Peace, Love and Joy.

If infants are to live, they desperately need love and affection; to be held closely.  Without this tenderness, little ones lose their desire to live.   This is a proven fact.  This holds true for the Christ Child as well!

One Advent, awhile ago, a friend came to visit me.  She said, “I remember one of your Christmas homilies.  You said that to show your care for the Holy Child, you wrapped a few towels together to represent the Christ.  Then, you walked through your home, holding Him closely and telling the Child about your hopes to be a better person in the coming year.  You shared with Him your dreams of how you would like to make this a better world in the year ahead.  It came to be one of the most exciting Christmases in your lifetime.”

She then handed me a gift and I unwrapped it.  Her gift to me was an image of the Christ Child, the size of a new-born infant.  It was wrapped in swaddling clothes.  What a wonderful Christmas I had that year.  What a wonderful Christmas I will have this year.  Try my idea. 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

December 20, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I want to thank you for your blog, it always has such meaning for me. God Bless You. From a friend of your sister Kay.

    Comment by mamaknows9 | December 20, 2014 | Reply

  2. Father McKenna, the Christ child lives within you! It was so nice to see you today, although you looked a little weak, I could see the spirit of Christ shining through your eyes with such tenderness and love you are such a blessing to all, and there is no better disciple (or example) of our lord Jesus! So many years of service to him! and still at 96 touching and impacting lives through your words with your blog. You are amazing. Merry Christmas with love Deb Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | December 20, 2014 | Reply

  3. great great idea Uncle George

    Comment by Mike | December 21, 2014 | Reply

  4. Merry Christmas from Oklahoma, I love reading the weekly blog. Mike Derrick ATA pilot

    Comment by Mike Derrick, former ATA pilot | December 21, 2014 | Reply

  5. Hi Fr. George! First of all, I love the photo of St. Joseph with the Christ child. Beautiful! It is wonderful how you find these wonderful images to include with your bulletins. You do post a GREAT BLOG! Ever since we came to meet back in 2008 at Midway Airport Chapel, my faith has grown by leaps and bounds! I thank God that he did not take me before I was able to really appreciate my Catholic faith and experience it so richly. I have learned SO much from you and have applied it to my faith.

    I used to pray daily on behalf of my mother a prayer to St. Joseph It is supposed to be an ‘ancient’ prayer, found in the year 50 AD. When I read it to her (in the nursing home) she said, “I won’t remember it” and I said, “that’s ok, mom, I pray it for you daily”. It is a beautiful prayer that includes the words “Saint Joseph, I never weary contemplating you and Jesus asleep in your arms. I dare not approach while He reposes near your heart. Press Him in my name and kiss His fine head for me and ask Him to return the kiss when I draw my dying breath. Saint Joseph, Patron of departing souls, pray for me.” She loved that prayer and I did pray it for her every day until she passed away. When she did pass away, even though she was unconscious, at her final breath, she did open her eyes and then breathed her last breath. I feel confident that she opened her eyes because Jesus was there to kiss her as she drew her dying breath. Although I was not there for that final moment (I was about 10 minutes away), hearing about her opening her eyes and knowing what that prayer said offered me great comfort upon her passing.

    I would not have even known about that prayer if it wasn’t for you – because I was so far from my faith until I went to your mass at Midway Airport. God knew he needed to reach me and sent you to do so! What a BLESSING! Love you and praying for you daily! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | December 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

