God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Cleansing Of My Temple


Façade of the Archbasilica of St. John Lateran This weekend we celebrate the Feast of the Dedication of the Lateran Basilica in Rome Picture via Wikipedia

Façade of the Archbasilica of St. John Lateran
This weekend we celebrate the
Feast of the Dedication of the Lateran Basilica in Rome
Picture via Wikipedia

One day, Jesus took up a cord of ropes and cleansed the Holy Temple area of the money making businesses. The Gentle Christ suddenly showed another side of His character, a tough side.  The Lord is not a mealy-mouthed person, a wishy-washy character who goes along with anything that comes by.

At times we must take ourselves in hand and exercise a strong force to drive out of our lives undesirable things present. Determination, disgust with intruders on the holiness of our spirit, quick action: all these come together to work little miracles within ourselves.

My way of speech, the people I am choosing for my friends, my over-indulgence in food, drink, pleasure, the low ideals I notice in my heart of hearts: all these could be the villains I wish to eject from my spirit life. Take a stand!  Roll up your sleeves and lash out at them, as Jesus did.  No hesitation, no dilly-dallying.  I want these evil intruders out of the Holy Temple of my spirit.

Advent will be upon us in three weeks. This holy season will offer us a good time for our personal cleansing of our spirit.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

November 8, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Father George, Always enjoy your weekly words of wisdom, food for thought and inspiration to live a more Christ like life, God bless you and all that you do. Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | November 10, 2014 | Reply

  2. Oh Fr. George, you always hit the nail right on the head! Like my tendency to overeat, due to stress or boredom, or sometimes just because things taste so darned good! But you are right, I have the POWER to control that! You so wisely connect the Gospel messages to current day matters. It is magical how you think and how you put those thoughts down on paper! What a gift you have. No wonder the Good Lord is keeping you active on this blog at your age! He knows that the world needs these wonderful messages of advice. I read your blog every time it comes out but, as you can see, I don’t always put a comment when I read them the first time. But, rest assured, I do read them and the messages always strike a chord with me! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! What a gift you are to us! Stay well and warm! Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | November 30, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

