God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Indifference Of World Towards Christ


In the splendid D’Orsai Museum, in Paris France, one of the top ten ranked Museums in the world, hangs an unusual painting of Christ. In a rectangular frame, the painting measures seven feet in length and two feet in width and rests on the wall at eye level.  The Lord lies stretched out on a table, all washed and clean, about to be placed in His tomb.  What a striking piece of work!  As I stood only a foot away from the masterpiece, I could clearly see the muscles and the bluish veins in the legs and arms, along with the perfection of the artist’s work in His Face and other parts of His Body.  How truly human Jesus was!

Jean Jacques Henner - Jesus at the Tomb – Via Wikipedia

Jean Jacques Henner – Jesus at the Tomb – Via Wikipedia

In my visits, I always stood off to the side and wondered how many people would stop and admire this Image of the Lord. Never did anyone come, at least in my time.  People were rushing by in search of beauty and inspiration, and were passing by the Source of all happiness.  I thought this experience made a good parable of life.  In our modern day world, peoples of all ages have grown indifferent to Christ, the Lord of Lords and the King of the Universe.  We can all fall prey to this blindness of heart.

From my own life, I can give you an illustration of this blindness. Years ago, friends gave me a gift of a wrist watch, an unusual one, because the face of the watch showed an appealing Image of the Lord looking out at me, with His arms outstretched.  For some weeks, I was enthralled with my new possession, frequently through the day, gazing at this Holy Image and enjoying the consolation of His Presence.  Suddenly, after a few months, the sad realization came to me that I was taking the Face of Christ for granted.  Yes, I looked at the watch for the time, but passed over the Person on its face.  These days, I am putting fresh fuel on my fire of love towards This Friend!

In years past, the news of Weeping Virgins, even here in Chicago, had caught our attention. If true, Mary weeps because people have forgotten the love and devotion due Her Son.  Does she weep over my way or your way of indifference towards the Messiah, her Child of Bethlehem?

Marriage experts all agree on a deadly disease that threatens every married couple, a terrible malaise of spirit in which one or both spouses start taking each other for granted. The little marks of respect and consideration which keep love alive and flourishing disappear from married life.  After a while, only a shell of the once delightful relationship remains.  Breakup ahead!  Our relationship with Jesus of Nazareth follows the same rules.  Unless we offer daily our love, our hopes and our sacrifices to stay holy, to Christ, we can lose that closeness we once enjoyed.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

October 18, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Fr. George! Yet again, you write what needs to be said and in such an eloquent and meaningful way! The world has certainly taken Our Lord for granted! I have found that the more I pray, the more ‘prayerful’ I feel, which makes me want to pray even more! I have taken the many gifts of God for granted in the past, and even have had years of forgetting about God. Luckily, I had the great advice from my mother to “Remember your God” and from you, to return to church and confession. That was six years ago and I thank God for the many blessings bestowed on me! My greatest news is that my dear friend (who loves your book that I gave to her this year) had yet another clear CT-scan showing no growth in her tumors – her doctor said it is a miracle! I have been praying for her with a Novena to Our Lady, Queen of the Rosary, and she has had many others praying for her. Thanks be to God! I pray for you and for priests daily – they need our prayers. Love you, Fr. George!! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | October 18, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

