God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Do It Now


Saint Francis Receiving the Stigmata El Greco Via Wikipedia

Saint Francis Receiving the Stigmata
El Greco
Via Wikipedia

Death finds all, the rich, the King in his palace, the poor man in his hovel. No one can buy him off.  Treasure the gift of life while still living and breathing.

Years and years ago, my mother and I planned a trip to Ireland so that after a 50 year absence, she might see her two living sisters. People around us said: “That’s too costly.  You shouldn’t go.”  Foolishly we cancelled our trip, allowing others to rob my mother of a memory of a lifetime, her one and only vacation.  That incident taught me many lessons about listening to others who would cheat me of fulfilling my dreams with their shortsighted advice.

Make use of the present opportunities you have in life because the chance to use them may never come again. Honestly ask yourself, “Am I living as if I planned never to die?  I would like to take that trip to see my family, the old country, but possibly, I should wait.”  Go now while you can.  Take a risk.

When you think of death in a positive way, as an angel of light, you will take each day as a treasured gift from God. Friends will mean more to you, especially your family.  Personally, each day I hold out my arms to Sister Death, as St. Francis used to call her, and say: “Come today or tonight Sister Death, I welcome you.”

This welcoming attitude towards death brings peace of heart, terrific enthusiasm for living and a lighthearted outlook on life. Why worry too much about anything?  Death will be a cure for everything.  With this frame of mind, you will notice an urgency in your life, to want to do all the wholesome things you have in your plans.

Why deny yourself needed conveniences for your home if you have the money for them? Buy them now!  Invest in a good music system for your home, an enriching investment for all.   Spend money on yourself, good clothes, spruce up your living quarters.  Why leave all your money to those who might squabble about it or show you little thanks?

Have the personal enjoyment of giving some of your money to a good charity or some God related projects. Yes, save something for rainy days, but too often that thinking is exaggerated.  How long are we going to live anyway?

Make death a friend, a cherished companion, interesting, charming.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

October 11, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Oh, so true!

    God bless you always~

    Comment by Kathy | October 11, 2014 | Reply

  2. Hello Father George, I’m sure you have introduced sister death to a lot of people how comforting to have her as a friend, cherished companion, interesting and charming, I’m sure a lot of people have left this world in a much calmer state due to you. Your a wonderful soldier of Christ. With much appreciation for your lessons in life, Debra Hurley

    Comment by 13th | October 11, 2014 | Reply

  3. Good counsel

    Comment by evanlaar1922 | October 11, 2014 | Reply

  4. AMEN, Fr. George! That is a great post and so spot on! So many people put off what they know they should do or else are afraid to break out of their day-to-day mold. I put off traveling for years to Europe – afraid that something would happen to my mom while we were overseas… until I heard a tragic story of a many (in his 50’s) who went to the doctor only because his wife was concerned (he felt ok) and was told he had 3 MONTHS left to live! That jolted me …. here I was putting off travel ‘in case’ my mom would pass – not thinking that either Tim or I would be the one that could pass away… And we managed to have two trips away and back and my mom was fine and able to hear about our travels! You have the best way with words! Thank you for your wise words! Tim and I went to the coast fishing this past weekend – it was beautiful and we caught over 20 fish! Unfortunately, we could not keep any (could only keep hatchery salmon and we caught all wild ones) but I did catch the biggest fish of my life – Tim estimated 13+ pounds! We had a really great time! Living life!! Love you and miss you, Fr. George! Praying for you daily.

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | October 13, 2014 | Reply

  5. Each day is a gift…and life, like death is an incredible mystery and adventure…thank you for always bringing a refreshing perspective to our day and enriching our faith…your words touch heart and soul…guiding us to the Father’s House…thanks forever Fr. George! God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, marianne

    Comment by mcs | October 13, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

