God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Church Of Reparation


The Basilica of Sacré-Cœur, as seen from the base of the butte Montmartre. Via Wikipedia

The Basilica of Sacré-Cœur, as seen from the base of the butte Montmartre.
Via Wikipedia

In the City of Paris, on a high piece of ground stands the Church of the Sacré-Cœur (Sacred Heart).  From its front esplanade, one can see all of Paris on a clear day.  At the foot of the hundreds of stairs that lead up to the Church is situated the notorious district of Montmarte.  Good people built this white marble Church so that the reparation could be made to the Sacred Heart for the sins of the nearby infamous neighborhood.

Within the Church, the Blessed Sacrament is exposed most of the day so that people of faith might offer love to Christ.  Thousands of visitors make their way up the steep steps to pray to the Sacred Heart every day in the good weather.  Once can see the white dome of this splendid Church from any part of the City of Paris.

Sin, a flagrant disregard for the Holiness of God, can change the complexion of a home or a community.  True love will leave the family circle and dangerous anger can take over control.  God will turn His blessings away from a neighborhood that puts aside His wishes for the sake of selfishness.

God wishes our love and commitment.  A person in a family or community can draw down God’s riches by striving to practice high ideals.  Never underestimate what you as an individual can do for your family and neighborhood.  One who says through the day, “My God I love You; help me to love You more”, can do for our little part of the world what the Church of Sacré-Cœur does for the Montmarte district.  Please do not conclude I am saying our community is evil.  I am saying that every place suffers from a high degree of coldness and indifference to the Lord.  As a result, all of us residents suffer.  We sense an unloving atmosphere around us.

As an individual man, woman, or child, no matter what your age – serve as a Sacré-Cœur Church in your neighborhood.  Be a person of love for the Lord Jesus and by your life style make reparation for the little attention He receives.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

June 7, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I love the way you integrate normal daily observations to permanently imprint our brains with an idea. From now on, I will always assocaite Sacre Coeur with reparation for our sins. Thank you for your ever inspriational messages. I look forward to them every week!

    Comment by Anonymous | June 7, 2014 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George!! It was WONDERFUL visiting with you last Friday!! What a blessing for Tim and I to be able to spend some time with you again. You look really good! And we SO enjoyed our visit! I have to tell you that after we left your apartment, even though you told us about the short cut out to the parking lot, I went to the Chapel anyway and said a prayer of thanksgiving for us to be able to visit with you and then I got teary because we don’t know when we will see you again, and Tim, EVER the voice of reason for me, said, “You never know when you’ll see anyone again… instead of feeling sad about that, why don’t you feel happy that you got to see him this trip!”…. SO TRUE!! That turned my tears off right away!

    I always feel so good reading your blog and even better when we can visit in person. I love you, Fr. George! You have enriched my life in SO many ways! As I attended Pentecost Sunday mass yesterday, with the message of the Holy Spirit, I know that the Holy Spirit led me to you back in 2008! I will continue to pray for you daily and I am going to pray more earnestly for men to feel the call into the priesthood – we do need more priests to lead this crazy world out of the hate-filled and empty lives that people seem bent on!

    I love this post about Sacre-Coeur, it IS a beautiful place, inside and out. Just like us, when we were free from the stain of sin at baptism, SO beautiful inside and out! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | June 9, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

