God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Prayer Can Change My Life


Embroidery of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Saint Nicholas' Church, Ghent, Belgium Via WIkipedia

Embroidery of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Saint Nicholas’ Church, Ghent, Belgium
Via WIkipedia

Like all people my age, I have experienced many happenings in my life.  If someone were to ask me what did you find most interesting in all your days, without too much thought I would quickly answer, “The joy and fulfillment I found in prayer.”  To speak with the Lord, Jesus of Nazareth, with His Father and the Holy Spirit brings unspeakable peace and comfort to a weary heart.

I make prayer simple and uncomplicated, a friend speaking to a friend.  Through the day in various places, I share my feelings with Jesus of the Gospels; my joy, my fears, my heaviness of heart.  My favorite prayer is “Jesus of Nazareth”.  In the flash of a moment, I can lift up my soul to be in touch with the Lord.  Never does He fail to send immediate consolation, strength and light.  In every way possible, I make Christ truly real and at my side.  To me, He is not a far distant God, but the most understanding of companions with the ability to put me at ease even in the midst of my failures.

I believe Jesus of Nazareth wants my love and trust more than many great accomplishments on my part.  Walking along throughout the day or sitting in our chapel, I joyfully offer Him praise, thanks, assurance of my complete love, and beg him to keep me close to His Sacred Heart.  No day can be ordinary or dull when all these simple actions of prayer take place.  What a privilege for all of us, no matter what our age, to unite our lives with the Life of God and draw from Him nourishment and perseverance in doing good.

 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 24, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Father, I love reading your posts. Thank you for continuing! God Bless you.

    Comment by barttimm | May 24, 2014 | Reply

  2. So rich in Joy, Love & Prayer are your words to us. You are an incredible shepherd…teaching us, tending us, His sheep! God’s Blessings, Love & Grace to you…Forever! Thank you Fr. George! marianne

    Comment by mcs | May 24, 2014 | Reply

  3. Beautiful and lovingly expressed! 

    A hug, mary lou w ingert

    Comment by fathermkenna | May 25, 2014 | Reply

  4. Hi, Father George. My sister Mary has been forwarding these prayers and meditations to me. They are so peaceful and loving. Thank you.

    Kathryn Mikel

    Comment by Kathryn Mikel | May 26, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

