God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Today / Today / Today


SunriseToo many of us live in the past and the future and then miss out on the sweetness and the beauty of the day at hand.  A friend of mine gave me a wooden plaque with these words inscribed on it:

“Make today a day of true goodness and joy, then every yesterday will be a memory of happiness and every tomorrow will be a vision of hope for the future.”

Sometimes I come to the end of the day and discover that I have spent most of that day reliving some painful experience of the past.  Negative thoughts of anger, sadness and discouragement filled my mind.  What a misspent day!  I did not appreciate the precious day at hand.

Give full attention to the day at hand!  Block out the yesterdays and the tomorrows and take joy in the simple happenings of the day we are now living.  With will power and determination, you can do this.  I have done this lately with a resultant increase in happiness and joy.

Today / Today / Today.  Glue those words to the mirror in your bathroom, put them on your work desk or on the bulletin board in your kitchen.  This word, “Today”, will remind you to “Make today a day of true goodness and joy.” 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Thank you to all my friends and readers for the kind words on my Anniversary. 
I will remember each of you in my prayers. 
Each of you did make the day one of “true goodness and joy” for me. 
Fr. Mc Kenna

May 10, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Father, you make the day of true goodness and joy with your insightful words and comments. Much Thanks, Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | May 12, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

