God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Risen Christ – The Encourager


Jesus resurrected and Mary Magdalene Via Wikipedia

Jesus resurrected and Mary Magdalene
Via Wikipedia

A true story! A young teacher died. At his wake, his students were telling the young widow how her husband had transformed their lives. In frustration she cried out, “Why didn’t you tell him this while he was still living? He was always downhearted and despairing about his work as a teacher.” Yes, give flowers to the living – not at their funerals!

The Lord, after his Rising from the dead, went about lifting up the spirits of His disciples and friends. He showed Himself an encourager without equal. To encourage means to pour new life into the hearts of others. The Loving Christ did not point fingers of blame, especially to His disciples, and ask troublesome questions . . . why did you desert Me when I needed you?

Instead, He wished them peace, with His Love for them showing in all His actions . . . eating with them . . . helping them to bring in a record number of fish . . . by making a second visit to the Upper Room for the sake of the doubting Thomas. At this Easter time, Our Rabboni wishes us to follow His example and go about encouraging others to live the full life.

In pursuit of this ideal, we need not do grand and glorious things. Simply be gracious, kind, pleasant to all whom we meet each day, no matter what their appearance or social standing might be. Every person crossing our path has a cross to carry. Our treatment of them might be just what they need that day to continue to carry that cross courageously. All are precious to Christ.

Smiles can work wonders. In my days the smile of a waitress or a flight attendant or sales clerk has lifted be out of the doldrums. I said to myself, “Cheer up George, life is worth living.” We can be so miserly with compliments. Human beings need them desperately. Mark Twain said, “I could live for two months on one compliment.”

Maybe write a letter to a friend struggling with the trials of life. A good practice, have a stack of “get well” messages and envelopes on hand. When was the last time we wrote a few lines of good will to our local priests? They can use them these days. One letter can do wonders for their spirits.

Hug our family members! Tell them often, “I think you’re great!” One Valentine’s Day, in 1933, while in 8th grade, another student put a little candy heart on my desk, with the inscription, “I love you”. This memory still lifts my spirits 81 years later.

Happy Easter To All!! Alleluia! Jesus Christ is Risen Today!                      Fr. George Mc Kenna

April 19, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Happy Easter, Father!! What a wonderful gift God gave us, when he gave us you!! Your writing always uplift me. I pray for you each day.

    Comment by Kathleen M Fitzgerald | April 19, 2014 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Fr. McKenna! I will have a smile on my face all day. God bless you this Easter and always.

    Comment by Larry K. Quigley South ''70 | April 19, 2014 | Reply

  3. Happy Easter, Fr. George! I hope that you have a wonderful and blessed Easter! Thank you for all of your guidance and words of wisdom, so beautifully put together on this blog of yours! You are a true gift to me! I am very happy that we met nearly 6 years ago. Praying for you daily! Love you! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | April 20, 2014 | Reply

  4. Happy Belated Easter, Fr. George! I hope that you had a beautiful day that day. I went to a morning Mass and the singing about our Risen Lord was just beautiful! It made me feel so happy, after the sorrowful Holy Week. Tim and I had a brunch for a friend of mine and her husband. It was small but very nice. And the day was beautiful. Then, this past Sunday, I went to Divine Mercy Sunday service at a church different from mine – not all churches participate in this. It was also beautiful. I remember last year, Divine Mercy Sunday was the day after my mother passed away. I was able to spend many hours in church praying for her soul – I felt that it was meant to be that she hung on until the night before Divine Mercy Sunday. I received much comfort by participating in Divine Mercy Sunday activities the day after she passed away. God is GOOD! I hope that you are doing well and feeling good – I am SO thankful that we can keep in touch via this blog. I think of you every day and pray for you often! You are such a dear friend to me! I look forward to seeing you next month!! Love and prayers! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | May 2, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

