God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Three Most Powerful Words In Our Language


Raft of the MedusaOn a Friday in 1986 as I walked through the Louvre Museum in Paris, I came across a remarkable painting in one of the galleries.  This dramatic piece of art depicted a stormy ocean scene.  In the forefront of this mighty work, a raft with a small sail floated on the seething waters with its occupants, men and women, in all stages of exhaustion and despair.

In the far distance on the horizon a large sailing vessel made its way through the troubled seas, oblivious to the frantic waving of the shipwrecked people on the raft.  The people were doomed, with no chance of being saved because of the high seas.

At the time I thought how well the painting portrayed life as it is.  People all about us are crying out for help in desperate tones, while we like the sailing ship pass them by.  In many ways we are deaf, dumb and blind to the screams of people in pain, maybe even members of our own family.  We can develop a sense of awareness.

I have a suggestion that the reader might wish to follow through on, a course of action I have tried often and found truly rewarding.  During the next week, now and then each day as one meets people strangers or friends, whisper in your heart, “I love you.”  “I love you” translated means, “I wish you good health, peace of heart, rejoicing in your family life, success in your work, and fulfillment of your dreams.”

The persons I direct these words to might be of any age, a man in wheelchair, a child, a family group, a weary looking woman, or someone up in age, or members of my own family.

When I did this, something good happens for the sake of all concerned.  My good wishes expressed in the words “I love you”, fill the air with a mystical quality of love and good will.  As seldom before, my own heart swells with peace and joy because I have taken the focus off my own needs and have centered my thinking on the well-being of others.  If people are in distress, I have a better chance of recognizing their cry for help.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 22, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Just beautiful!! Thank you so much. God love you~

    Comment by Kathleen M Fitzgerald | March 22, 2014 | Reply

  2. So true Fr. George…three words that make a difference in the heart that speaks them…and in the heart that shall receive such a greeting…as soul greets soul on the journey Home…
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace to you, marianne

    Comment by mcs | March 23, 2014 | Reply

  3. Ahh father George, another beautiful transcript, thank you for bringing light into our lives, I love you 🙂
    D. Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | March 23, 2014 | Reply

  4. Hi Fr. George! It was so nice speaking with you the other day! This is a beautiful post! When I took a mindfulness meditation course a few years ago, we learned something called ‘Loving Kindness’. It was similar – but it was to think of someone who you loved and send them loving thoughts – but to also think of someone who is ‘difficult’ or challenging to you in your life – and send THEM the same loving thoughts – and to send them to yourself, and then to the entire world. You might think to yourself: “May you have peace, may you feel joy, may feel love” or something on that order. Turning it to yourself (which many people need to do) made you feel so warm, I mean, physically warm in my chest! it is very powerful. I love your idea of putting that message in your heart. I will try that today with people that I see – whether I know them or not! Thank you for all of these wonderful ideas! And I love how you interpreted that painting at the Louvre! You really have a special gift! I love you, Fr. George! Praying for you daily! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

