God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Holy Spirit – A Messenger From God


Jesus knockingOn Friday, May 26, 1995, a woman in our apartment building died suddenly at the age of 84.  On the way to the hospital Mary, RIP, reminded her daughter, “Be sure to give my painting to Father McKenna.”  A couple of weeks later Mary’s son-in-law brought her precious painting, her treasure for 34 years, to my door.  Quite sizable, it measures 4 feet by 2 feet.

The artist shows a close-up view of Christ standing at the door of a house in the woods at night, with the moon shining through the trees The Lord is about to knock on the door.  Ten minutes after I received this wonderful piece of art, I sat down to write something about this unusual happening.  As Pentecost was approaching, I had been praying to the Holy Spirit to inspire me with a deeper love for God.  Maybe this gift had a message from the Spirit for me.

As I began to write I caught sight of a few words of attractive print type on a paper beneath a jumble of twenty other papers and cards on the table next to me.  For some reason I pulled out this sheet risking an avalanche of papers to the floor.  The headlines on the narrow strip of paper read, “Surrender Prayer”, with these words in the first line, “Come to Me, My friend!  I call you to a deeper surrender of yourself.  I call you to come to Me . . . ” 

The thought came to me that Christ is knocking on the door of my heart and asking for total surrender of my life to Him.  My surrender in days past has been incomplete, “Yes Lord, I give my life to you, but make sure that I keep all my senses, sight, mind, speech, hearing and mobility.  I want a painless death.”  That experience made me realize that I have to offer myself completely to Christ without putting in some fine print condition.  Take everything Lord!

Believe that in the daily happenings of life the Holy Spirit has precious messages for us.  Keep our eyes open and the door of our heart ajar.  Look out on life with eyes filled with anticipation of many life changing experiences happening to us.  Much faith is needed!

How will this happen?  A few examples:  someone loans us a book on God; We recover from a sickness with a sense of gratitude; A close skirmish with death leaves us breathless; In traveling we see new ways of doing things; One close to us begins a renewal of life; A valued friend dies.

If we leave the Holy Spirit out of our thinking we can miss out on terrific learning experiences.  Spirit of Love, help me to be alert to your work in my life!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to All!        

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 15, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Very interested, Have a wonderful day friend 🙂

    Comment by Gede Prama | March 15, 2014 | Reply

  2. Thank you Father George.  Recently we at Presence Ballard Rehab & Nursing moved into our third floor temporary chapel.  On the wall behind our altar hung a painting of a light-house by the sea which could be somewhat inspirational as a sign of hope but last week our chaplain, Jack Smith, replaced it with a beautiful original painting of Christ standing and knocking at the door of a house at night!  Beautiful!  We all love it!   And then now,  this morning,  here arrives your wonderful painting of the same loving vision !  

    We’re so connected!!!

    P.S.  Happy St. Patrick’s Day! 

    Also Fr. Phil has regained the 30 pounds he lost in the years  of his illness!  He has daily therapy now and is making progress, slow,  but progress.  We have 3 seminarians who visit and help us on Wednesdays. They say their morning office w/Fr. Phil and sing a morning hymn. Beautifiul.  We all love the sound of their male voices floating down into our hallwys.

    Love you.  Always did.  Always will.   

    Mary Lou Wingert

    Comment by fathermkenna | March 15, 2014 | Reply

  3. Hi Uncle George, I love this one a lot.
    -Michael

    Comment by Mike | March 15, 2014 | Reply

  4. As always, a beautiful message for all of us. Thank You!

    Have a very blessed St. Patrick Day~

    Comment by Kathleen M Fitzgerald | March 15, 2014 | Reply

  5. What an incredible reminder to us all Fr. George of the gift of the Holy Spirit in every moment of our lives!
    In silence He speaks to us…in our busy, often chaotic days…He is knocking on the door of our hearts…but we must invite Him in…thank you for reminding us…The Spirit of Love is always Present!!! What a beautiful painting that inspired your words…now touching so many lives…the gift you received is now “painted” on every reader’s heart! May St. Patrick & St. Joseph guard and guide you, especially this week of their feast days! God’s Blessings, Love & Grace…Marianne

    Comment by mcs | March 15, 2014 | Reply

  6. Thank you for the gift of you! May Our Lord bless you and keep you, and may Our Blessed Mother watch over you always. Your gift of teaching how to see life through the Holy Spirit, with the messages that are sent to us in everyday living, give hope and much happiness as we travel our roads now knowing we are not alone, but by opening the door, we have direction and love, and finally……peace. Sending love and prayers to you, and to all at BLR and beyond. Please keep us in yours. Live life with much laughter and smiles! God is good!

    Comment by Pamela Joy | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  7. Hi Fr. George! I hope this comment will post, I just wrote a long comment and then it said it could not be posted! I wanted to tell you that this was another beautiful message! I think that I have shared with you that I have a strong belief that the Holy Spirit was very instrumental in getting us together – I had such a strong sense to attend Mass in the Midway Airport Chapel (after many years of not attending) and you were saying Mass that day in May of 2008 and again in August of the same year when I flew back to Seattle again. Both times your 3-minute homilies spoke volumes to me and then, your book! I delighted in all of the stories and in reading them to my mom over the phone from 2,000 miles away – such wonderful memories – she always would say “marvelous” when the story was over! I just know that the Holy Spirit was looking out for me then and lead me to you!

    This was a great piece because, you are so right, we do ask for all the good things in life – but that may not be in keeping with what the Lord has in store for us – so better to pray for graciousness and true trust in the Lord when His Will Be Done!

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you, Fr. George. Hope you are doing well, Love you and miss you! Praying for you daily. I’ll call you soon!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  8. So glad that note posted … whew!! ok, bye for now, take care!

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 16, 2014 | Reply

  9. Fr. George,
    Surrender it all. Do you suppose the love of the green should make amends for a few men of orange. Are you suggesting we forgive those who need forgiving and leave not a few stones by the church door. Tis a frightful thing to let go of something you have become comfortable with, even if it is full of putrid vile hatred. In honor of Hisself, and seeing it is you who are asking I’ll forgive them all, for all. Hell couldn’t hold em all anyway. Starting now, we thank you Father. Thank you for all prayers especially for those desert dwelling Hibernians, Noel Martin, Brother Mathias Barrett May they RIP. May they cause a small fray up their today. Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

    Comment by TaterSoup | March 17, 2014 | Reply

  10. […] The Holy Spirit – A Messenger From God […]

    Pingback by Jumble Spoiler – 03/18/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog | March 18, 2014 | Reply

  11. Father McKenna, what a wonderful photo, with such inspiration, The Lord knocking on the door of your soul waiting, wanting to enter for those who open there hearts, he is there for all to receive, what a nice reminder during this season of lent of why he died for us, opening the door to heaven to us all. Love and peace deb hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | March 18, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

