God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The High Road To Adventure


The Garden of Gethsemane by Giorgio Vasari Via Wiki Commons

The Garden of Gethsemane
by Giorgio Vasari Via Wiki Commons

In 1959 I made my first visit to the Holy City, Jerusalem, at the age of 40.  At that time I thought to myself, this will be my first and last trip to the ancient city, over 4,000 years old.  Little did I realize that I would be making 26 more visits to Jerusalem, the City of Peace, in the next 50 years.  That’s an average of one trip every other year.  The words of Scripture moved me, “Seek the Lord while He may be found!”

Jerusalem, the Holy City has captured my heart.  Why?  In these sacred environs Jesus lived, preached and died.  We speak of being hooked on drugs, gambling and alcohol.  I am hooked on Jerusalem and the Life of Christ!  In every visit to this most interesting city in the world I offered Mass and prayed in many places where our Savior preached and died for our sakes.  The Scriptures came alive for me as never before as I prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane.

I am not pushing for all to board planes for the Mideast.  My family told me many times “you don’t have to go to Jerusalem to discover Christ!”  This is true.  We can find the Lord in our homes, our places of work, in our schools and in our friendship with others.  The Lord presents Himself to us especially in the Eucharist and Holy Scripture.  As one writer put it; “The Lord is closer to us than our breathing.”

Always in my coming home to Chicago I have a burning desire in my heart to tell others about the most fantastic adventure in life, namely, to know, love and serve Jesus of Nazareth.  In the last 2,000 years He comes across as the most exciting Person ever to walk on this earth.  Make Him the Central Person in our lives, ahead of spouse, family and friends!  Life will never be the same again!  As we enter Lent 2014, take the Lord’s offer of friendship seriously.

Refuse to allow Him to be just a plastic figure on a crucifix.  Instead, make Christ a living breathing exhilarating Friend walking at our side.  If we have no good image of the Lord in our homes, by all means set one up in a prominent place.  Sit or kneel before it!  Share our life daily with This Friend about our ideas for the day at hand.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 8, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Fr. George! First of all, I am responding to you on my new laptop. Very much a new experience and I am having to re-learn about computers, it has changed that much! So nice to read this post from you! I would have loved to have traveled to the Holy Land with you – what a great teacher and guide you must have been! Those that were able to be there with you must have treasured all of the moments you spent with them! The Holy Land would be a place that I want to definitely visit someday. Until then, you are SO right, we have to make Christ living where we are! I have many pictures of Jesus that belonged to my mother on my little table in the spare bedroom – I love to glance at His eyes, which seem to look at me intently! And now that we are in our Lenten journey, it is more important to open up our hearts and minds to Jesus every day! I attended our church’s first Stations of the Cross – it is SO meaningful to walk that Way of the Cross with a group. As usual, I am thinking of you and praying for you daily – you have contributed immensely to my spiritual life! Oh, giving another one of your books to someone today, my neighbor’s daughter who recently had to put her dad in an Alzheimer’s unit. I suggested that she take the book to him and read to him! (remember me reading the “Father George” stories to my mom over the phone 2,000 miles away? How she LOVED your stories!). Hope that you are well an happy, Fr. George. I love you and miss you! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | March 10, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

