God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Do Not Abandond The Work Of Your Hands


The Northern Lights, Picture via Wikipedia

The Northern Lights, Picture via Wikipedia

Years back, while I was walking through my neighborhood, I came upon an old car with an interesting bumper sticker . . . “This is not an abandoned vehicle” . . . humorous yes, but also it sent a clear message to the local police not to tow it away.  How wise it would be to have these words printed in big letters on my back or on the parchment of my heart . . . “I am not an abandoned person” . . . No!  God watches over me every moment of every day.  I am one of His dearest possessions.

This announcement would tell the evil spirits not to take liberties with me no matter how shabby and forlorn I might look and act.  When trouble comes my may I would not fall into discouragement and despair.  Rather I would shout out, “I choose God.  I am not an abandoned person!”

I offer you this picture, one that has helped me greatly in dealing with hard times and that I have drawn upon often.  I am sitting in a lawn chair with my head bandaged, my arm in a sling, and my leg in a cast.  I then imagine the Three Persons of the Trinity standing behind me.  I feel Their fingers pressing into my shoulder blades, reassuring me of Their Presence in my trying times.  They have not abandoned me.  “Have courage”, They say.

In my time that I worked with the Eskimo people in Western Alaska, with Russia only 150 miles away, I thoroughly enjoyed the night hours and the stars.  The sky appeared to be a carpet covered with sparkling diamonds.  To the north, the Northern Lights, one of Nature’s most fantastic of miracles, cast rich colors across the whole sky.  Only because of the complete darkness on the ground was I able to see these marvels.  So too in life; if every day had nothing but sunshine, we would fail to see the Beauty and Love of God.  We would take God for granted.  So, draw good out of sufferings.  Ask yourself, what profit can I take from this new affliction that has just come upon me?

In 1925, a powerful earthquake devastated the City of Santa Barbara, California.  Planners made designs for a new city.  Today, Santa Barbara ranks as one of the most beautiful cities in the USA.  In our darkest moments, there is always His Light to guide us.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

January 11, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Fr. George! Yet another beautiful post from you – so rich in imagery and illustrations of how we can take the smallest detail and apply it to the workings of God. You are a masterful story-teller! Tim and I recently received a beautiful book of photographs of various Northern Lights displays – beyond words, and yet, as I looked at them, I was thinking – this is not even close to what awaits us in heaven! We cannot comprehend what the Lord has in store for us! Like the song, “Eye has not seen, ear has not heard, what God has ready for those who love Him”… beautiful and consoling words! And yes, if everything was always sunny and bright, we would miss out on many opportunities to turn to the Lord. I see that with my Facebook friends, pleading for prayers when things are bleak – I hope that they learn that God is there for them always, not just in troubling times. Thank you for the lovely post and have an enjoyable week! Love you! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | January 13, 2014 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. Mckenna!
    Thank you so much for sharing all your bulletins on line. The stories that you share are truly beautiful. I was reading the article about George Kohler and how you must of made his family feel. You have always have taken a difficult time and turned it it to a much easier time for everyone.
    I always look forward to reading your stories and amazed at each one. They always bring a smile to my face and I try to apply them to my life. Thank you again and love you always! Margaret Murphy Regan

    Comment by Anonymous | January 21, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

