God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Rise And Enjoy The Beauty Of Life


Raising Lazarus, Oil on Copper Plate, 1875  Carl Heinrich Bloch Via Wikipedia

Raising Lazarus, Oil on Copper Plate, 1875
Carl Heinrich Bloch
Via Wikipedia

Some years ago in the Holy Land I was walking across the top of the Mount of Olives on my way to the little town of Bethany, the home of Martha, Mary and Lazarus.  To my back, the Old City of Jerusalem had a golden glow in the early morning sunlight.  The rain during the night left the downward clay path slippery.

Suddenly my feet went from under me and I landed on my back.  For the rest of my stay in Jerusalem the wet clay covered my pants, the only pair I had.  As I lay there I thought I heard a voice . . . “George, come forth!  Rise from your bed of clay to a better way of life” . . . At the foot of the hill stood the opening to the tomb of Lazarus where Jesus has summoned Lazarus from death to life.

The message made me stop and think.  In my travels I had a heavy bag with no wheels and a light carry on valise.  The heavy one caused me much exertion and trouble.  I decided that day to simplify my life.  From then on in my travels I took only the essentials in a small bag, one that I could lift with two fingers.  Travel became more exciting and enjoyable.

Perhaps we are carrying too much baggage in living out our lives. . . a chip on our shoulder. . . too much worry and fear. . . poisonous grudges. . . a growing indifference towards God. . . despondency.  A voice might be saying to us today, “Come forth!  Rise from your death dealing ways of living.  Simplify your life!  You are carrying too much baggage.”  Life could be so much more enjoyable.  As we go through the clouds in the next hour take this message to heart.  Make some tough decisions.

All through my stay in Jerusalem the clay on my pants reminded me of the shortness of life.  My attitudes towards life changed in many ways.  Less worry and fear. . . a more loving way of dealing with people. . . more joy and laughter on my lips. . . a greater dependency on God. . . a deeper appreciation of friends.

“Come alive and enjoy the beauty of life!”

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

December 7, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Once again you are so right, there is so much beauty to see in this world but so many people have a veil of fear covering there eyes, preventing them from seeing the true goodness of God. It was so good to see you this past week! and was so happy to hear you hadn’t gone across the street the whole year! Such an ambassador of Christ you are not only one of the oldest but best. Thank you for your service. Deb

    Comment by Anonymous | December 7, 2013 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. George. I remember a trip to the Holy Land with your small group in 2008. I asked you what should I bring and you said just my passport and money. Then my luggage was delayed. I learned a valuable lesson. Only take what is essential. You are a good role model. Janet

    Comment by Anonymous | December 7, 2013 | Reply

  3. you discover the truth of your life

    Comment by evanlaar1922 | December 7, 2013 | Reply

  4. Thank you for your common sense and it brings me back to what is important. I look forward to all your writings.

    Comment by Diane | December 8, 2013 | Reply

  5. Thanks always Fr. George…for the wisdom of your words filled with faith & light…the Bethlehem Star reminds us in all its brilliance…Love is our Guide throughout life…all we ever need to take on every journey…be it to the grocery store or across the world! Advent Blessings! Marianne

    Comment by mcs | December 8, 2013 | Reply

  6. Hi Fr. George! What a wonderful story! SO many lessons come to mind. To trust that you will have what you need, that God will provide, that you can’t carry too many things comfortably – I love the analogy of the baggage of your items with the baggage of ‘things’ on your mind! You know what has been on my mind lately! (the family strife). I am taking your advice and not letting them get to me! I did send each of them a Christmas novena spiritual bouquet. I had to tell them that I am praying for them always, in the hopes that their hearts will soften! Your writings are so wonderful, Fr. George. I will remember this story when Tim and I go to Europe next May – PACK LIGHT! Oh how I wish I had known you sooner and could have gone to the Holy Land with you. What a delight that must have been for those accompanying you. I hope to go there one day. I will take your many stories with me when I do go and it will feel like you are there with me! I will call you next week. Love you much! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | December 20, 2013 | Reply

  7. Just one more note: We are SO lucky to have you on this Blog and still able to minister to your flock! God is making sure that you are still able to help us with our daily struggles! Love you!

    Comment by nancywest22 | December 20, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

