God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Love God And Our Neighbor


Norman Lear’s Freedom From Want – Via Wikipedia

Norman Lear’s Freedom From Want – Via Wikipedia

Jesus said, “The Greatest Commandment is to love God with all our strength and our neighbor as ourselves.”  In October 2006, I spent two weeks in the Old City of Jerusalem at the Center for Biblical Study, at the 2nd Station of the Cross.  While there, I met and talked everyday with people from 15 different nations, not in class, but just casual conversation.  All spoke good English.

More than ever before I realized how we, members of the Human Family, are all children of God.  These delightful people had the same desires we have for peace of heart and happiness in their family life.  When they cut themselves, red blood comes out.  We are so much alike, our brothers and sisters.  I carried away many happy memories of them from my days in Jerusalem.

Every day at Midway Airport, people from 30 to 40 nations move through the concourse; everyone so much like each one of us.  They are hungry for food, tired, hoping for respect from all.  The workers at Midway find no problem in caring for these strangers to their community.  All are willing to help them in any way.  God wants us to love others, no matter what their cultural background, color or nationality.  We can pray for those with leanings toward destructive lives.

Our struggles to love our neighbor come in regard to people close to us in everyday life – our next door neighbor, our mean boss, coworkers, or even our immediate family, our brothers or sisters.  We may feel that they have mistreated us in some way.  A little corner of our heart is fenced off from the complete love, respect and care God wants us to have for others.

Up to several years ago, I held grudges against about seven people.  I didn’t hate them, but they, in my way of thinking, hadn’t treated me fairly.  Of course this didn’t add to my happiness.  One day a sudden inspiration came to me.  Every morning as I rose from my sleep, I sat on the edge of my bed and prayed for these seven people by name . . . “O Lord, bless my friends today!  Give them peace of heart, good health and success in their work!  I would gladly die for anyone of them!”

Now, my grudges and resentments have disappeared.  My spiritual and physical health has improved greatly.  Has the doctor ever said to us, “What’s eating you?”  The holding back of love and forgiveness can eat away at our physical organs.

       Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!                 Fr. George Mc Kenna

November 23, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. You teach us always Fr. George about His Love…thanks for setting the perfect example for us, His sheep!
    Thanksgiving Blessings to you! Love & Smiles are a universal language…understood by all when that love & smile comes from the center of one’s heart. God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | November 23, 2013 | Reply

  2. WE DO Thank U so much for this and all, and your inspirational life…..
    Best wishes and ongoing prayers fro ALL and peace.
    TPD and family

    Comment by Tom Dubrick | November 25, 2013 | Reply

  3. No truer words were ever written, Fr. George. I hope that you had a very nice Thanksgiving and many blessings for you as we begin the beautiful season of Advent! I love you!
    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | December 1, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

