God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Love Story That Could Be


LoveOn May 25, 1979 a huge airplane, a DC-10, crashed on takeoff at O’Hare field, with loss of life to all 258 passengers.  As relatives of the victims flocked to the airport, reporters heard a common thread of thought running through their remarks.  “I never told him how much I loved him.”  “My daughter grew up without knowing how dearly I cared for her.”

The statements show a glaring weakness in family life that still resides today.  Members of families are reluctant to tell each other, “I love you.”  The words “I love you” stick in the throats of parents, children and friends.  Some would say these words are “too strong an expression”, others would claim they are “Too sentimental.”  Unfortunately many have to guess at the love others have for them and in the meantime lose out on strong encouragement to live.

Many members of families feel unlovable because no one has told them “I love you.”  When someone feels loved by another strange mysterious things begin to happen in the heart.  The one to whom the love is directed takes on a new self-esteem.  A strong desire to make oneself a better person comes to the one loved.

 On a Christmas card to me many years ago my brother wrote these words: “How much we love you.”  Never before had he written in these terms of affection.  The words touched my heart in a personal way, bringing me much happiness and encouragement for that Holy Season.

Shyness, timidity and fear of being laughed at hold back sincere people from expressions of love for others in the family.   At first it may be difficult and embarrassing to say “I love you” but soon it grows easier.  These words send a healing into hearts hurt by the world.

Years back, a priest friend in Alaska, the Director of radio station KNOM in the remote village of Nome, finished his letter of thanks for my contribution with these words: “Lots of love and prayers.”  Strangely the words affected my whole outlook in a positive and joyous way.  I began using those same words when writing to friends.

Another priest friend of mine used to end his letters to his parishioners in this way: “Luv You.”  He found it a good way to say “You people mean much to me, your priest.”

Luv You!  Fr. George

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

November 9, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. We should never leave a day go by that we don’t let our loved ones know we love them. Beautiful message.

    Comment by Anonymous | November 9, 2013 | Reply

  2. Luv ya back Father George !

    Comment by Paul Krueger | November 9, 2013 | Reply

  3. Love You Always Fr. George…I usually end all my phone conversations/letters with…love you lots…and sometimes that can be cause for a smile…when I it is to someone in a more business conversation…so then I think….oops! …sooo to those who I may speaking to for the first time or more professional/business setting…I often conclude with “Blessings to you!” …I remember vividly that tragic crash, having flown into ORD a few days earlier…in this month of poor souls we remember all…
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace to you Fr. George, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | November 9, 2013 | Reply

  4. As the song goes “What the world needs now is love sweet love….there’s just to little of. Wouldn’t the world be a better place if more was spread around. Thank you for the reminder..with lots of love and prayers 🙂 Deb Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | November 11, 2013 | Reply

  5. Hi Fr. George! I LOVE you! You know that I do – and I know that you love me. I feel such a special closeness and indebtedness to you – you brought me back to our Lord! In fact, just today I told the story of how we met and started conversing and gave a copy of your book (Wisdom from the Pulpit) to my friend that was here for lunch today. She loved hearing how we met and how I would read to my mom from your book (over the phone). It is easy to say those words to others when they are sincere. I spoke to my sister yesterday (in Indiana) and at the end I told her that I loved her – she couldn’t say it back, but I know that she loves me. The other two (Virginia) are not even conversing with me anymore – so all I can do is pray for them daily – that they find peace and love in their hearts. And I pray for you daily, too, my dear friend! I am very happy these days – and Tim and I are married 14 years this month – a wonderful love story.that amazes me still! GOD BLESS YOU, Father George! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | November 11, 2013 | Reply

  6. Thank you. It is so important to feel loved and to express our love. Knowing we are loved makes us thrive and be the best we can be.

    Comment by krega | November 12, 2013 | Reply

  7. Love you too! I have been blessed with a family that has always said ” I love you” !!  My Mother also always added when we left the house:” Love you, be careful!” Of course, I do the same thing to my family. I always thought that every family did that, as I grew up I realized that they didn’t. We had a very “special” family. I thank God always for them.  

    ________________________________

    Comment by Kathleen Fitzgerald | November 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

