God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Serve God While There Is Yet Time


St. Padre Pio celebrating Mass Via Wikipedia

St. Padre Pio celebrating Mass
Via Wikipedia

In 1944 in the first year of my Priesthood I gave the shortest sermon (now called a homily) of my life – just seven words: “Serve God while there is yet time.”  This took place at a Sunday morning Mass as Maryville Academy – A Catholic Charities home for 850 dependent children.  With a 15 second silence before and after the sermon, I looked down at the 300 youngsters in the chapel.  This incident proves how I have always believed in the value of short homilies. 

My superior scolded me for my worthless sermon to children.  In 2010 a man in his 70’s, Jim Erickson, called me from California and told me this message: “I have always based my life on the words you spoke that morning.”

These words of St. John Bosco have remained with me all my 69 years of Priesthood and remind me to serve God faithfully on a daily basis.  We are beginning to live in a God-less nation.  Strict laws forbid the posting of the 10 commandments in public buildings and the use of prayer and the Bible in public schools.  This year abortion clinics will deprive one million infants their right to life.  Vocations to the Priesthood and Religious life are becoming scarce.  Catholic schools keep closing because of their high tuitions.  In our Chicago Archdiocese, estimates say that only 25% of Catholic people attend weekend Mass.

Medical experts state that human beings reach their best level of physical health at age 30.  There after a steady decline in well-being and strength takes place.  All this means that Catholics must work harder than ever to keep mindful of God’s Presence in their short lives on earth.  Few movies, if any, show people attending Church or speaking of God in the conversations.  With new laws about marriage, its holiness has received some death blows.

Serve God today, not some time in the future.  Place a copy of the 10 Commandments on the refrigerator and read them every day.  Give perfect worship to God by attending weekend Mass in a full hearted way.  Death, the end of life, can come suddenly in many different ways.  Be Wise.  Don’t take tomorrow for granted.  By being a close friend of Jesus of Nazareth by prayer on earth, we will not meet him as a stranger if we make heaven.  Serve God while there is yet time.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

October 26, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. You are 100% correct, becoming a godless society

    afraid to peek beyond the veil and see what the state of affairs will be in even 5 years

    Comment by Mike | October 27, 2013 | Reply

  2. Not many people will be able to serve God the many years that you have, we are blessed to have you as a reminder and perfect example. Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | October 28, 2013 | Reply

  3. One word can change a lifetime and the eternal destination! Your homily made an impression then and now…thank you forever for your faith-filled life and priesthood! You make a difference every day for all of us, His Sheep! Thank you Fr. George! A candle is always burning brightly for your intentions!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | October 30, 2013 | Reply

  4. Hi Fr. George! I am happy to comment on this post. There is a trend to godlessness in our society. I pray for the young people who seem so unhappy but do not realize that they are depriving themselves of their best friend – Jesus! I too, was proud (and/or stupid) when I was younger and was away from the church for 20+ years. God, in his love for me, however, kept me on this earth and helped me to change my ways. You, of course, were the most instrumental in that transition by hearing your homily in the Midway Airport Chapel that day in May, 2008. Now, my prayer life is rich and I feel so close to God, especially in the Eucharist. I am so lucky that I was NOT taken from this world while I was still away from God. So many do not get that opportunity. I pray for you daily, Fr. George! You are such a blessing to me and to all who read your wonderful words of faith. You are a wonderful priest! I love you, Fr. George! May God continue to bless you with the ability to keep getting the word out to us in your flock!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | November 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

