God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Pass On Your Good Ideas And See Them Grow


OaksA few weeks ago, a priest friend told me a story which held much meaning for me.  He didn’t realize how much of an audience would hear about his simple story.  An old shepherd spent most of his days on the hillsides with his sheep.  On returning to his home in the valley, he would gather huge numbers of acorns in bags.

Back in the hills with his sheep, he punched holes in the ground with his staff as he walked along.  In each hole he dropped an acorn.  Years afterwards, all those formerly barren hills have magnificent oak trees growing on them, adding to the beauty of the countryside.  The shepherd left behind a heritage of a scenic wonderland.

We too have many chances to plant, not acorns, but good ideas in the fertile soil of minds of other human beings around us.  Not by preaching, but rather by the simple sharing of stories, happenings, and experiences which affected us.

You read an uplifting book and tell others about it, perhaps even read it to them.  A speaker on TV or ratio talks of an idea that captures your imagination and you pass it on to family and friends.  You might tell ten friends and only one really holds on to it – still worthwhile.

All this activity on your part is spontaneous.  You are simply wishing to share helpful thoughts with others.  At the same time you are listening to others as they tell of incidents that touched their lives.  By being open and interested in others, we can plant many valuable ideas that will bear rich fruit in the days ahead.  Please tell me of any sayings or life experiences that impressed you.  I want to profit from them so that I might enrich my own life.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 15, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. What a beautiful story, Fr. George! Just this past week, on my walk to work, I noticed all these acorns on the ground! Now, when I walk that way, I will think of this story! Just another example of how you touch my life in so many ways. You are a true blessing in my life, Fr. George. I am so thankful for you. God had a plan to have you enter into my life 5 years ago! I am so much more spiritual and closer to God thanks to you! I love you, Fr. George! Attending your mass at Midway Airport Chapel in May of 2008 and again in August of 2008 have been two life experiences that have changed my life forever. I will never be far from Our Lord again. Thank you and GOD BLESS YOU! Love, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | September 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

