God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Be Ready To Die


None of us know the hour, the day or the road we will be on, when we will meet our Lord

None of us know the hour, the day or the road we will be on, when we will meet our Lord

On July 25, 2013, on the Feast of St. James, an Apostle of Christ, a train crash in Spain killed 79 people.  All these men and women were traveling as pilgrims to the Shrine of St. James at Santiago de Compostela (a small town in northeastern Spain).  An interval of 30 seconds took place between their well-being and deaths.  What a glorious welcome these people received in Heaven.  I want to die like this; while I am doing some good work for Christ.

A few days later after this tragedy, another train crash in Italy caused the deaths of 40 pilgrims on their way to the town of the Shrine of St. Padre Pio, about 200 miles south of Rome.  Padre Pio opened his arms to them as they came to Heaven.

At my age, 94, death might come at any moment.  In the Bishop Timothy J. Lyne Residence for Retired Priests, I live in perfect surroundings for a happy death.  Verdant forest preserves completely embrace our residence for several miles in all directions.  This beauty reminds me of God’s Graciousness.

Together with my 14 brother priests, I concelebrate daily Mass at 8:00 AM in our little chapel with the Eucharistic Lord as my Food and Drink.  I say often to myself that the same Christ of the Gospel stories lives here in our Tabernacle.  This realization helps me to spend two Holy Hours in the Chapel: one after lunch and another after dinner.  I don’t say many words to the Lord, I’m just there to keep him company.

In my 6 year stay here at the Bishop Lyne Residence I have never heard one harsh word or critical remark from my brother Priests.  Peace and good will reign supreme.  We help each other in small ways.

Think often of death, no matter what our age.  No one escapes this happening in life.  Fill our homes with peace and good will and acknowledge God as our Lord and Savior.  We too, travel each day on a pilgrimage.  Do all our daily duties for Love of Jesus of Nazareth.  Then if death comes suddenly or otherwise, we will receive a glorious welcome in Heaven.

 

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 7, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I love reading all your writings. You bring Jesus into my heart everytime. I pass your writings along to my family and friends, so they can have Jesus come into their hearts. God bless you!

    Comment by Kathleen M Fitzgerald | September 7, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George! You are SO right with this post – we all have to face death and we never know when that will be. It is good to be reminded of this – I hate the thought of losing you but as you said, no one knows – maybe I will leave this life before you do. I’m SO blessed to have met you 5+ years ago and to know you and be friends with you. A true blessing from God, to be sure! I’m very happy to be deep in my faith again, due to your encouraging words. I am praying for you – I will miss you when your earthly life is done – but I will be so pleased to know that you are in heaven, enjoying eternal happiness. Yesterday was 7 years since my dad left us. I pray for his soul daily. And, I’m praying for you daily, Fr. George. I love you! Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | September 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you forever Fr. George…for your words of great faith and wisdom…what an impact on hearts & souls! …in being ready to die…we are then ready to live the Life to come…I think it was Pope John XXIII who said…”my bags are always packed!” God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | September 9, 2013 | Reply

  4. Again Father, so inspiring!,, after losing my friend Char 2 weeks ago, she was the one I visited in Bensenville after visiting with you, like you 94 devoted her life to the betterment of children, being a foster parent to many adopting 2.
    I know like you she was welcomed by the lord. Isn’t it wonderful we know we have a better place to go! God be with you. Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | September 9, 2013 | Reply

  5. Thank you Fr. McKenna–when God is ready for each and everyone of us to join Him in paradise–He will call us home. God’s peace be with you. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Pam Gervais | September 10, 2013 | Reply

  6. Fr. George,
    I was a student at St. Barnabas while you were the Pastor. To myself, my parents, and many other parishioners, you were the standard by which all successive Pastors were judged. With all due respect to those who followed, you stood far above them all.
    My question to you is, can you still make that one handed shot with the basketball?
    God Bless you and please continue writing for years to come.

    Regards,

    Mike Deering

    Comment by Mike | October 11, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

