God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Thrill Of Living


Norman Vincent Peale “Drop the idea that you are Atlas carrying the world on your shoulders. The world would go on even without you. Don't take yourself so seriously.” Picture via Wikipedia

Norman Vincent Peale
“Drop the idea that you are Atlas carrying the world on your shoulders. The world would go on even without you. Don’t take yourself so seriously.”
Picture via Wikipedia

In a wild flight of imagination, step out of your own body and observe yourself and your activities for a day.  From behind pillars and fences, notice what spirit you show in living life.  At the end of the day you might have some eye-opening conclusions to make.  You might have to say:

“Am I that person with shoulders slumped over as if I were carrying the world and all its problems?  That worried look has never left my face all day long.  I heard a growl in my voice when I was speaking to others.  Come to think of it, I didn’t even smile or laugh once all day.”

Yes, we could learn much from this honest self-observation.  Those harsh conclusions above could mean that we are tragically missing out on the thrill of living.

Joyous living, the gift of the Lord, is ours for the asking and the taking.  A clear conscience with a happy-go-lucky spirit can work small miracles in helping us know the advantages of living.

Why are we so over-serious, so short tempered, so reluctant to drink the cup of life to its fullest?  Life need not go in this direction.  We only walk through this valley once.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

August 17, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I remem er as a child My mother always talking about Norman Vincent Peale. Thank for reminding me why.
    I love your Weekly inspiring thoughts. I send them all over the country. Please don’t ever stop!

    Comment by Donna Kurcz | August 18, 2013 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. McKenna–I needed to be reminded of the time we spend here on earth is only for a short time–let’s live it well each day. God bless you and keep you in HIs loving care. Pam Gervais

    Comment by Pam Gervais | August 18, 2013 | Reply

  3. So true Father! We must remember to smell the roses and enjoy this gift of life, It is a beautiful world.

    Comment by krega | August 19, 2013 | Reply

  4. Must be a wake-up call for me. I just read that in Peale’s book last week, and then see it here this week.
    Thank you and God Bless.

    Comment by barttimm | August 19, 2013 | Reply

  5. Hi Fr. George – thank you again for this reminder!! I know that I could use that reminder to not take myself so seriously and to worry less! My mom was always so happy and everyone commented at her funeral how she was SO NICE! I need to be more like that. Thank you for all your kind words and wonderful advice! You are a true gift from God! Love you! – take care, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | August 26, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

